Last Day Here


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today is my last day here - my last day of a semi-settled life. I am getting eager to leave - though still unsure of giving up creature comforts for a chance of truly being alive. In my fears I have remembers that it was 5 years ago this month that I was last in Washington DC - having left this very place. And it seems like more than an eternity ago - yet being here at my mothers it seems like the last time was only yesterday.

So when I get fearful I remind myself of all that I have experienced in the last 5 years, all that I have seen, done and grown. I have seen the Yukon and the Grand Canyon, travelled cross-continent many times on the Greyhound bus, lived in a hostel for months meeting many interesting fellow spirit travellers, worked on a variety of organic farms and experienced rural life, lived in Tofino and worked retail and the hostel/hotel industry, lived in Victoria in too many places with many life styles, hitched in the Kootenays and finally made in to my three "T's" that I set out many years ago - Tofino, Tobermory and Tadoussac all in one year. I think of all that I have seen, and all those that I have met, and I also think of how at times how I failed to appreciate it all. And I also think of all the times I tried to "settle" and force my self to stop and live a "proper" life.
Now a new adventure awaits me. South - Mexico, Guatemala and who knows where else or what it will bring.

Advertisement



14th February 2007

happiness
i just read all of your journals up to Feb13th, i was expecting to receive them in my email cause i subscribed but never got them. It sounds like you're quite happy and flying high on a free spirit wind and i'm quite happy for you. May the sun shine on you in dark times...stefano

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb