Ready... Set...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
August 31st 2013
Published: August 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello ladies and gents.



So the time we've all been waiting for is nearly upon us. It's just a few hours until I move to Edinburgh. In a remarkable turn of events, I'm almost completely packed! Leaving out the fact that I am currently in the terminal, waiting to board, I think this is a remarkable feat.



Currently, there is twenty minutes until boarding and Mum is out grabbing one more converter and when she arrives back, I will officially be completely ready for my move.



And here she is. She has such lovely timing.



Anyway, it has been a very emotional day for me. Sort of. There has been a large wealth of emotion and a portion of that was felt by me.



I was woken up bright and early by my mother who took me out to get a duvet cover (it's very loud. Very me). We then returned home and my darling matriarch began to criticize the sheets I bought myself. Unsurprisingly, her objection was not that the sheets were designed for five year olds (they're Tangled sheets, which I find hilarious), its was that they weren't made out of cotton. I see no problem with synthetic fibre, but I haven't slept on them yet so I can't conclusively disagree; I do so purely on principle.



A little later on, my grandma stopped by with a lovely notebook that I intend to use often. It was a very thoughtful gift and I am very touched by it. In fact, I am very touched by the kindness and generosity shown to me by all my friends and family. It is rare to be shown such love and I am grateful for it.



Anyway, back to my account of the day.



We had lunch (a favourite activity of mine) and finished packing and weighing our bags. Mom completed this activity with equal parts grace and anxiety. It was quite the thing to watch.



The monumental task of packing my life up to ship away to a foreign country accomplished, we began to load up the trunk of our car. While completing this, my friends Sam and Amber stopped by. We said our goodbyes and they were very teary. It was incredibly sweet. I'm going to miss them. They think I'm going to forget them, but they're dorks; I'm going to be harassing them electronically all the time.



Shortly after, it was time to go to the airport. It was a quiet, almost somber drive; Mom was very sad, I was detached.



After we checked our bags, we went for a final dinner. True to my immaturity, I had chicken nuggets.



Our last meal ended much too soon and finally it was time to go to the gate.



We left Dad, Avery, and Josh outside of security. While I was saying my goodbyes, I was suddenly very upset to be leaving. It was ridiculous; two seconds before, I was completely ready and willing to go overseas but the second Dad gave me a hug, I start crying. And then I gave Josh a hug and I cried harder. Of course everyone was making fun of me, which is very insensitive if you asked me. After hugging Avery and enduring more mockery because both Mom and I were crying, we made our way through security and towards the gate.



And that's where I am. We should be boarding any minute now. It's all very exciting. I'll check in when we land.

Advertisement



1st September 2013

I am so excited for you. I hope you had an amazing flight and that you settle in nicely :) Skype me when you can :D

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb