Slowly Packing Up....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
March 4th 2006
Published: March 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first blog entry....now I remember how it feels to be a virgin all over again....

Anyway...I had a hectic day yesterday getting things done for my trip. I had the marine certificate physical in the morning (perfect sight and hearing...good to know I'll hear and see everything perfectly, and why do they make those cups you pee in so small), then off to walk the main downtown core a few times as I try and find a HSBC branch to set up an account. Never did find it...but I did manage to hit the one of the few travel agents in town which sells the HI memberships...check, picked up some Contiki info...still not sure if my 2 months before I head on the cruise ship will be solo, or on a tour, I'd love some feedback on this one. I also mailed in my stuff to get my ISIC card...looking forward to seeing my ugly photo on that one everytime I pull it out...I was in a rush and they didn't have a hairstylist available to touch up my hair...amateurs! I also got my criminal background check started...it's in the mail...am I a criminal...we'll soon find out. It's amazing the things you have to do to get a job making drinks.

I also passed by a Winners and had to walk in...I can never resist. It was a good thing, found a Timberland Waterproof Spring Jacket for half price...but buying it would mean leaving my favourite jacket back here in Toronto. I literally spent an hour walking the store pondering what to do...I really love this jacket. I made the hard decision to buy the jacket, since it was much easier to pack (less space) and waterproof, things that my current jacket are not. As I shed a tear while at the checkout counter...I realized just then what it takes to travel around the world...letting go of your current life and possessions, and know that great new experiences are on the horizon.

Cheers,

Neil

Advertisement



Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb