Pictures & Videos


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
May 23rd 2007
Published: May 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post


Tim & ITim & ITim & I

this is my favorite type of "cricket"ing

Takeoff from Lukla Airport

Geothermal Activity in Rotorua

Diamond Back Python

Tuk Tuk in Bangkok

Everest Reflection
This is a comment that I received on my blog with respect to my Bangladesh entry...it is quite entertaining and thought I should share it with you.

Constrasting experience in Bangladesh

In contrast to this story, I should mention my trip via Bangladesh in ths time frame. I am also an oustider visiting this country. My visit to Bangladesh was a breeze of fresh air. The staff were great and I didn;t get hit with dozens of paranoid security checks.. people aint paranoid here about terrorsim like in the states. Anyways, I had a great experience at the airport. Too bad the writer here did not, perhaps because they were a dimwit, noticeable when Dhaka was beleievd to be a part of India. And how stupid can someone be when they mention that "Biman Bangladesh Airlines" is the national carirer for nepal? it's Royal Nepal Airlines you goof. someone is really retarded... talk about a clown...



I would like to thank whoever wrote this comment on my blog. After a good 7 months of travelling, it was about time that somebody put me in my place. When I was on my 50 hour return trip home
NepaleseNepaleseNepalese

this man spoke 0 English..but wanted me to hold his grandaughter and take a bunch of pictures of him and her.
and was making a jewelry box in the South Korean airport, an elderly lady sitting across from me was surprised to hear how long I'd been travelling and that I was finally going home. She then asked me whether or not I'd "changed"....I said "to tell you the truth, I haven't really thought about that and I mean how does one you really judge that independently?"

Had I received a comment like this prior to my trip, I would have flipped and undoubtedly retaliated. When I originally read the comment for whatever reason I wasn't upset about it nor did I feel like retaliating myself. I mean, I could have gone off on this person, for being gutless and not leaving their name, or could have made fun of them for their not so impressive control of the english language, evidenced by them saying "people aint paranoid"...or by spelling simple words like "believed and carrier as beleived and carirer". Obviously I also knew that Bangladesh Airlines was the national carrier for Bangladesh (its not just a clever name you know)...and not Nepal.....but I guess, sometimes when you haven't slept in over 20 hours, your mind isn't as effecient as it should have be.

Thats great that this person had travelled there during a similar time frame and said that it was a "breeze of fresh air"...(do you maybe mean "breath" of fresh air???).
Well, you know whats an even "breezier" amount of fresh air, the fact that I didnt have to meet you.

Interestingly enough and for reasons that are unbeknownst to me the aforementioned article has been my most popular blog, with more than 230 people reading it...so, one out of 230 dissagreeing with me...I reckon I can handle it without having to get back at them....probably because, I've changed so much.

I've added about 60 more pics and 6 videos. I threw in alot a bunch of pictures of people that people who read this know, so I hope you enjoy. Within the next week I will also write one final blog entry and that will be it....then you'll just have to peruse the sports sections to a greater extent to occupy your time @ work.


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Worlds highest  Vball gameWorlds highest  Vball game
Worlds highest Vball game

if you look closely enough..you can see a) the snow coming down and b) one cat playing in barefeet
One of many many helicopter rescuesOne of many many helicopter rescues
One of many many helicopter rescues

people sometimes get hurt..but usualyl its a product of altitude sickness...one helicopter rescue costs approx $1000 to the victim.
Getting close!Getting close!
Getting close!

Dharma and I
Was about as comfortable as it looksWas about as comfortable as it looks
Was about as comfortable as it looks

that guy with his hand up, actually made me RETAKE this photo, just so he could smile and put his hand up...well, here's your 15 minutes of fame bud.
Praying @ a buddhist templePraying @ a buddhist temple
Praying @ a buddhist temple

Dharma is Buddhist and is very proud and happy to share his knowledge in a positive non propaganda type of conversation.
Reflection LakeReflection Lake
Reflection Lake

Nz..shoutouts to Best for this photo
The way to Milford SoundThe way to Milford Sound
The way to Milford Sound

Nz..shoutouts to Best for this photo
Million Dollar ViewMillion Dollar View
Million Dollar View

the background aint too shabby either.
Routeburn trekRouteburn trek
Routeburn trek

this was the view from our cabin....before it snowed and we almost froze to death.
Best & I @ the falls in NZBest & I @ the falls in NZ
Best & I @ the falls in NZ

you'd think we would just be walking around these falls....no no..directly THRU THEM!!! crrripes.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb