Final “Day Off”


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sudbury
August 24th 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Final “Day Off”

Friday, 24 August 2007

Today was our final “planned” day off - guess it’s close to the end of a lot of elements of this trip. But I must confess, that except for sleeping in a bit, and not having to plan routes for a bike ride, there are still things which “must” be done, like laundry (the final time for that), and getting Panna’s nails trimmed (don’t know if I can do it with my hand being sore), and so on.

By coincidence I’d found a groomer on the north side of Sudbury who did not feel we needed an appointment and her place was right next to the laundromat where Bob planned to take our laundry, and it was also close to a pet food place where we’d located a particular brand of kibble for Panna. And they were all close to a residential neighborhood, so I could take Miss Panna for a nice walk before she had her pawdicure.

So Bob dropped us off and we had a nice 7 kilometre walk, a bit longer than intended, but someone got “lost”. One neat thing is I finally got Panna to cross a bridge made with a metal mesh surface. We’d tried the first time we were in Sault Ste Marie, and again the last time we were at Kinsmen’s Park there, but, probably because she can see what’s below, plus the feeling of the mesh itself, she had absolutely refused to go. This time I was finally able to get her across, although she wound up putting her front feet on my foot early on, and I wound up having to more or less drag her across the final 10-15 feet (4 metres or so). I praised & treated her afterwards, but I’m not so sure she’s ready to do it again.

Anyway, by the time we returned and got her nails trimmed (took about 30 seconds) the laundry was done, so we went for lunch then took a “little drive” to check out some of the route options for me on the bike. And then I remembered a place I wanted to go to look for some mocassins for myself, and before you know it we were on a nice LONG drive - poor Bob, some day off for him!

By the way, that 7.1 km walk will be “added” to the cycling of 22 August, which had been only about ½ day of “work”...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb