Fun Ride in the Rain


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sudbury
August 22nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fun Ride in the Rain

Wednesday, 22 August 2007

Another moving day. This time to Sudbury. I decided that I’d like to do at least a near-30 kilometre ride from the motel, up highway 557, which I’d explored a little bit on Monday, before we actually left Blind River. So once I had all of my stuff packed up, I left Bob and Panna to finish loading the van and took Blue for a run. It had been cloudy all morning and just began to rain softly as I departed.

And despite the rain, it was one of the more enjoyable rides I’d had out here. The road was mildly hilly, with some curves, nice scenery and light on the traffic. I really would have liked to continue for more than 30 kilometres, but it eventually did turn into a gravel road and I knew that would greatly limit my enjoyment. So I had to turn back at about 20 km and do the final 10 km retracing my “steps”. The rain, which had been little more than a misting, caused no problems other than necessitating a light lubrication of the chain before we loaded the bike into Casper, as I have had the unpleasant experience of a bike chain getting rusty overnight when I’d been caught in a heavy rain, and was not prepared to let that happen again.

The drive to Sudbury was uneventful. However once there, in a bit of fooling around with Panna, she grabbed my right hand with her teeth in such a way that it must have hit a bone or ligament or something, because it really hurt, even though there were no obvious signs of damage and it was certainly not something she’d done with the intent of injuring me. My poor right hand, just as the thumb seems to be well healed...

The timing of our day had been such that it seemed unlikely that I would get in another ride or 5-kilometre walk, so I’m just going to have to make sure that I make up for it on our final scheduled “day off” - as long as I don’t have to get up to the alarm clock it’s a day off for me!

DAY 55: 30.0 km, in 1:50 hours, ave. speed 16.3 km/hr, max. speed 28.4 km/hr


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb