Trip Preparations


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sault Ste Marie
June 12th 2011
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

-I found myself sitting at my computer a few days ago with this website open, trying to type up my first blog entry. I racked my brain over and over, but I was at a loss to find a way to kick this blog off. What does one say when they are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime? I know that I am speech-less right; I still cannot believe that I am doing this trip. In a few short days, the tires will leave the tarmac at Pearson International, and I will be bound to finish this trip.

Confused yet? For those of you who don't know, I am traveling across the European Continent this summer (2011) from June 19th to August 19th. I will be solely propelled by bio-mechanical processes.

-Excuse me?

-Oh sorry I meant by a velocipede.


-Huh?.....

-A bicycle.

-Oh...

-Yes, it is true! I will be trekking from Amsterdam in the Netherlands to Istanbul in Turkey. The total distance of the trip is 4000km! One requirement for this trip is that I carry everything that I require in 4 pannier or saddle bags on my bike. It requires precise packing and intense scrutiny to decide if I reallllly want that extra pair of shorts or that extra sweater. I have never traveled like this; but it certainly an eye-opening experience.

You might be thinking to yourself, "This guy is crazy! How does one get involved in something like this?"

Well.... it all started with a mass email I received through my school account. It was an email detailing an experience in the summer of 2011 by biking from Amsterdam to Istanbul. I soon decided to get some information, and within a few short days I was accepted into the group and destined for a remarkable adventure.

I had some experience cycling, mostly around town and what not; but nothing at the level of what this new adventure required. It was a sobering thought, but one that seemed so distant.

I'd like to describe what happened in the six months from when I signed up and my departure, but that is enough to fill another entry. (I'll save it for next time)

Once I am in Europe, I will try and update this blog as frequently as possible, but it will depend on how much break time I have and how willing I will be to spend that time in front of a computer and not exploring whatever town I will be in.

I look back at the last six months and it blows my mind at how fast it went. June felt so far away, as I sat in my office in January; a hot coffee in hand, snow blowing at the window panes, piled high on the city streets.

There are only two words to describe how I feel right now: excitement and wonder. I am so excited to get this trip under way and I am looking forward to exploring each new city I arrive, on a new continent I have never set foot on before.

It's weird. The last time a close family member explored the European Continent was my Grandfather, Bert Bonne. His arrival point was Juno beach in Normandy in Hitler's Fortress Europa. He fought and bled for the freedom of the European citizens and so that one day his grandson could live a free life and choose to go on crazy adventures. One of my first stops in Europe will be at the World War II memorial in Amsterdam to honour my grandfather and the other millions of soldiers and civilians who fought, bled, and perished during those 6 perilous and frightening years of war.

I will wrap up this entry with a short quote from Dr. Seuss,

Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You're off to Great Places!
You're off and away!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know want you know. And
YOU are the guy who'll decide where to go.
...
You won't lag behind, because you'll have the speed.
You'll pass the whole gang and you'll soon take the lead.
Wherever you fly, you'll be the best of the best. Wherever
you go, you will top all the rest.

(Oh The Places You'll Go by Dr. Seuss)

'Till Next Time!

Alex


*Author note: I wanted to add photos for this blog entry, but the site decided to be difficult. I will try at a later time!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb