See you soon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Mississauga
November 3rd 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got a couple days left. It's about freaking time. Didn't intend to wait this long to leave but plans change quickly, as I'm sure they will along my travels. That's why I've got a plane ticket with an open return date and one night's accomodation booked. Other than that, just a loose plan and general direction in my head that I'm secretly hoping won't come to reality. Spontaneity's the key this time round.

Ok, for those who didn't really know that I was leaving, here's the abbreviated overview. I'm just taking a few months off to travel and ideally volunteer/work in South America. I'll be flying to Santiago on Sunday and then going overland through Chile, Argentina, and Bolivia with some close Aussie friends. After that, I venture solo and everything's up in the air.


Commonly Asked Questions as of late:

Why are you taking off traveling again?
- It's just its turn in the cycle. Felt that drive to hit the road and thought why not. I'm not running from anything or trying to find myself. Those journeys have long past. Everything's great here in Toronto. That really came into perspective during the last month when I was spending 80% of my days just thinking about this and that. So I would pretty much attribute this trip to a craving for new adventures and an opportunity to see old friends again. That sounds reasonable, right? So to all those traditionalists, get off my case! I still have 50 years to work.

Why South America?
- Hey, my goal I set a few years ago was to travel to each continent before I turn 30. So it was pretty much down to South America, Africa, or Antartica. And somewhere between wanting to snowboard in the Andes to trekking Patagonia to eating obscene amounts of meat, I chose the former (choosing actually consisting of a gut reaction that didn't involve any decision weighing whatsoever). I still really want to visit Africa but more so to work on a defined project, hopefully during my graduate studies.

When are you coming back?
- I'll definitely be home by middle May for all the wedding and bachelor parties if not sooner.

How are you affording this?
- Dude, it doesn't cost an arm and a leg, particularly where I'm going. I just set aside some savings and worked from there. Trust me, time was a way larger obstacle than money. Besides, the cocaine is much cheaper when you buy local. Duh!

Are you bringing home a Latin American wife and illegitimate children?
- Never say never. Stay tuned...

How's your Spanish?
- Mamacita, me acompanas a casa? Quiero hacerte el amor.

What will you miss most?
- Besides obviously friends and family (for the most part), in no particular order...annual snowboarding trip, Raptors games, white Xmas, my shower, ability to properly communicate, a culture that shuns speedos and short shorts...this list will grow quickly as time moves on.

What will you miss least?
- You.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb