You're A Travel Writer?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » London
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

TorontoTorontoToronto

The biggest tower in world taking forefront - CN Tower.
Visited US States Map



Snowing, -26c (bloody cold!!)

So…. I’m a travel writer! I never planned it that way and I’ve always had images of writers being obsessed Woody Allen type characters. You know- raving nerdy, loony and insane idiots. Is that what I’ve become?!?!
A ‘major Australasian’ travel magazine (I’ll let u know if u ask!) took a liking to what I had to say about Vanuatu & New Caledonia. So now I’ve been asked to do 2 major feature articles on both - the first in the upcoming addition and the second in the winter addition. How did this happen!? I mean it’s bloody awesome, but I could never have planned such an ‘exotic’ overseas job title!!! Anyway, I’ll be busy re-reading and refining what I experienced in New Cal & Vanuatu. I can't believe someone is paying me to write - getting a 'C' grade in HSC English really does pay off!
Ohhhh.. by the way I have another 3 jobs:
Weekdays:
* Bartender/waiter at a Chinese restaurant (lotsa tips and an accentuated Aussie accent!!)
* Casual work for the local radio station
Weekends:
* Ski Patrol at Mt Bouler - looking after lifts, terrain park, making
Downtown TorontoDowntown TorontoDowntown Toronto

At the Eaton Centre downtown, lots of ice skating and cool bars.
sure kiddies don’t get into trouble etc..
* Casual work for the radio station
So.. I’m busy all the time and attempting to be very cashed up when I come home!!! I'd even consider a career change to bartender if we tipped in Australia - shame on us! (I say that from the other side of the bar)

London’s been great so far and it’s been awesome to have a ‘local’ something, even if it’s just for the short time. I’ve met heaps of great people at the hostel, including one of the creators of Unreal Tournament (PS2 game) - Mike. Sometimes it’s hard getting to know new people, hanging out and than they leave 3 days later. So it’s great to have work buddies (even if it turns out I only see them at work because I’m so damn busy). There’s also been loads of watching new 24, Prison Break, Trailer Park Boys (awesome Canadian TV show) and of course, drinks at the local St Louis Bar & Tavern.
In my attempt to cure homesickness I visited the ‘Aussies in Canada’ group in Toronto. We had breakfast and discussed Tim Tams, tipping, work visas, footy and beer. I
Toronto MonumentToronto MonumentToronto Monument

Full of history - a monument from 1879. Toronto is the best of both worlds, awesome new buildings and a lot of history.
met some great people but realised quickly that it wasn’t the Tim Tams I was missing - it was my lovely fiancée in Adelaide. No amount of chocolate could fix that.. but I gotta admit the package that Marg sent went a little way in doing that. Vegemite, t-shirts, lollies, Aussie mag etc… it was awesome!
I walked around Toronto and admired the CN Tower, tallest tower in the world! Pictures don’t do it justice but it’s massive. Last time I was in Toronto I went up to the top and wondered what it would be like to work in Canada… and now I’m doing just that. It was a strange feeling to be back in Toronto and very uplifting. The expensive parking ($20 for 2 hours) was the only thing that kept me from staying another night. I made the drive back to London in 1.5 hours and found out I’d be hitting the road again.
The PD at a rock station in Ottawa was keen to have a chat. So the next day I drove the 8 hours north and met him for coffee at work. I’m sure I must have looked like a space cadet after driving
Snow & Ice StormSnow & Ice StormSnow & Ice Storm

Back 'home' in London after the snow & ice storm. View from the back deck of the hostel... lotsa snow!
non-stop all day, but it didn’t stop him from talking about long term contracts & salaries. I wasn’t ready for the compliments that flowed and was presented with a long term ‘plan’ as an announcer in Ottawa. I was astounded by the feedback and thankful for the opportunity - but it was 2-3 years longer than I’d hoped for. Ohh well.. it was worth the trip and I met some cool people.
The weather was insane in Ottawa, -28c at night which meant being VERY careful. A few minutes in a blowing gale and without ‘protection’ you could end up in serious trouble. I donned my jacket and attempted to find dinner, two streets down and my only option was pizza. Whatever.. pizza it was and I was too cold to continue. I would have loved to have explored more of Ottawa at night, it’s an amazing city and has the giant historic parliament house (cause it’s the capital of Canada ya know!) right beside the miles of frozen canals. It’s weird to see people heading to clubs with ice skates strung on their shoulders, ready to ‘ride’ home via the canals later on. Such a cool idea though, imagine
CN TowerCN TowerCN Tower

Up close & personal
having a big night and ice skating home via a frozen canal! I wonder if they have drink-skating rules... Ottawa is a very live-able city and everyone was overly friendly (like most Canadian towns). The only downside were the bunch of pommy louts staying in my dorm, banging doors at 11pm than coming back at 2am and the worst - making out opposite me at 3am. I got up earlier and headed back to London, it felt like home compared to the bloody poms in Ottawa.
The drive back to London was absolutely horrific. It rained during the night, which turned to ice and than it snowed on top in the morning. Everyone drove like they were driving on snow and things got very nasty. I would have seen 10 accidents driving home and watched a semi trailer skid and almost jack knife in front of me - insane. The worst was driving past a fatal accident in Toronto. I’ve never seen an accident like that ‘up close’ before and it scared the hell out of me. I’m sure I was driving 80km/h on the highway after that experience. I vowed to never again head out in conditions like that
Ottawa ParlimentOttawa ParlimentOttawa Parliment

Old school parliment.. undergoing renevations but looks awesome!
- horrible, stressful and very depressing.
My ‘job hunt’ got off to a slow start and I was preparing to ration food. I sent loads of resumes but no bites; my patience was starting to wear thin. Maybe I’d have to stay in Ottawa for a few years after all?!? It wasn’t until the day I’ll forever call ‘the great flood’ than things started looking up. First I was woken up by a call for a job interview at an Indian restaurant than Chinese restaurant, the manager of the ski resort called and said he wanted to hire me, PD at the radio station got back to me and I got the magazine offer. This all happened in one day - if it doesn’t rain it pours (or for London: ‘if it doesn’t snow, it snow storms’.. hmm doesn’t sound as good!).
It’s strange but so exciting to think the next party of my journey will be ‘homebound’. I had originally planned to see the whole of Europe within a few months, but have since decided that’s near impossible! When I started out traveling I did it for the experience, not the ‘sights’ and nothing has changed. It’s more about
Feels Like HomeFeels Like HomeFeels Like Home

Hostel dorm in Ottawa.. I stayed in 'Australia' for the night! Even if it was a wonky looking Australia... still, better than a picture I could draw.
meeting people and the whole cultural experience than quick dashes to photograph ‘the biggest golf ball’ etc..
With that in mind I’ve decided to just grab a ‘taste’ of Europe on the way back to Australia and not attempt to drive everywhere and see everything (I’d be happy not driving for years anyway!). Europe is a destination I can easily travel with Marg and it’d be more enjoyable to hit the major cities together.
My itinerary for the way home avoids large European cities so I can easily settle in and experience a place for at least a few days. It’s an unusual list of places and a starting point for when we (Marg & I) hopefully return… ohhh and I’m island hopping in the Caribbean for a bit, damned if I miss out on some sunshine before an Australian winter!!!

HOMEBOUND MATT:

drive to New York via Niagara, Boston & Hampdens spend a few days exploring
*Flight: JFK New York to Saint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles (Caribbean)
spend 3 days relaxing in French/Danish island
*Flight: Saint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles to Point-A-Pitre, Guadeloupe (Carribbean)
spend 10 days exploring the island nations of Guadeloupe, Dominica, Martinique & Saint Lucia - all short trips by high speed ferry
*Flight: Castries, St Lucia (Carribean) to Nice, France (via Madrid)
spend 3-4 days in Nice
*Flight: Nice, France to Reykjavik, Iceland (via London)
spend 5-6 days in Iceland
*Flight: Reykjavik, Iceland to Amsterdam, Netherlands
spend 3-4 days in Amsterdam
*Flight: Amsterdam, Netherlands to Helsinki, Finland
spend 3-4 days in Finland
*Flight: Helsinki, Finland to Adelaide, Australia (direct via Singapore)
home!!! YEEHAA

I hope everyone is well in Australia / Canada / US or elsewhere... I can't believe it's 40c in Adelaide!! Makes me feel warm going outside at night when it's freezing. Cheers for all the emails and hopefully we can all grab a beer when I get back!


Advertisement



4th February 2007

For crying out loud!!!!!
It's not fair!!!!!!!!!!! I am so jealous!!! Me, who is a trained writer can't even get a job at a friggen radio station as a measly copywriter, let alone be DISCOVERED on the internet!!! YOU SUCK!!! I haven't even finished reading the rest of what you've said, I'm too devestated that my fantastic skills are still undiscovered!!! (Sounds of wailing, following by thumping fist on the pavement) Could have had a job in Whakatane as Creative Director but didn't even bother applying when discovered the wages are about as bountiful as the creative directors. Can you point out to Mr Travel Magazine how witty my comments are!!! Talked to KT on the blower yesterday. Have booked airfares, arrive in Syd 22nd of Feb and depart for good ol kiwiland again on March 4th. Maybe I should start a travel blog!!!! My tour of duty to Sydney.I'd say congratulations on the writing gig, but it might kill me!!
5th February 2007

No rest for the wicked!!
How freaking cool are you! So many jobs, so little time. Awesome work babe, YOU MAKE ME SOOO PROUD. Good luck with the work juggling. You'll be a master of everything by the time you get back. Love you babe. So much. Keep the awesome blogs coming superstar. LUG (sorry KT - had to be said)
5th February 2007

Something weird and cosmic
Hey Matt, Well reading your blog was a very weird experience. The short story is that I am heading to Canada in March for the best part of a year, and was looking for inspiration as to how/where to get a job, when I stumbled upon your blog. I like the part about C-grade english at high school and now writing for a travel mag, impressive mate. I am actually trying to bullshit my way into a writing gig too, am planning to be a music festival/gig reviewer. Any tips for how to score a gig?? I have been doing some serious net surfing looking for avneues but have come up empty so far. Any advice tips would be great. Live the dream man!! Pete (pgjreedy@hotmail.com)
5th February 2007

Amazing
That is so great! I am glad to hear you a filling the days with fun. Safe travels back home and have fun in the Caribbean punk. Keep in touch! I will miss your travel adventures. LA
6th February 2007

Nice work
Very nice work champ. I look forward to reading your capturing articles in the magazine. Take it easy and try not to work too hard. Smiles Karen
7th February 2007

Nice work Sutton. You've done your country proud. Even the bogans. Man pick me up a French girl on your way home. I'll pay you for the taxes when ya get here.
8th February 2007

Goss update
Did you hear Mitch's news about going to 96Fm Family Fun Station in Brisey? Also Cros has resigned too!! And Sam Leary gets married Saturday!! Just keeping you in the loop. Luv Loose lips! HA HA
8th February 2007

Published Author
Congrats on your writing gig. Its good to know that we aren't the only people appreciating your travel stories. Sounds like you have some great times ahead just with work and then your travel home. Have fun and take care.
11th February 2007

What The?
Man, have I written to you yet? I've planned to, often...Congrats on your engagement and on your new career prospects...just think where you WOULDN'T be if you'd taken the job at Dead-end Stellar Inflight! I can't find your email address, but I've got a couple of friends you can call up while you're in amsterdam, if you like... email me and I'll let you know their details! See ya! xx Isobel
13th February 2007

Valentines
Happy Valentines Matty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope you have an awesome time! KT and I are waiting for our presents from you!!! You just can't forget about us now that you have Marg!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb