It's official. I'm heading back to Honduras!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
June 3rd 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been holding off on announcing the details of this job because I didn't want to jinx it. After a few months of e-mails, phone calls, and a very worried Walter (and me!) it's official: I've been offered a position in Honduras that I have accepted.

The school is called The American School of Tegucigalpa and is located in the capital city.

The position is a co-teaching position for grades 2 and 4. My co-teachers for each class will be covering the language portions of the classes (reading, writing, spelling, phonics, etc) then acting as literacy coaches for the rest of the elementary division. I will then cover the math, science, and social studies classes for both grade 2 and 4.

The school curriculum is based on the American curriculum. They use Harry Wong's "First Days of School" as a guide for classroom management, lesson mastery, strategies and techniques.

New teachers are required to arrive sometime between July 26-29 (I finish camp on the 25th!) then start teacher training Aug. 3. Classes start August 10th (Happy Birthday to me!)

The benefits of this position are undeniably irresistible. Based of my bachelor of Ed. degree and my year of classroom experience, I will be making much more than I was making at my last school. They are also offering to pay extra if I will teach dance classes/run a dance club for the school!!! On top of this, I get a monthly housing allowance that will cover rent for an apartment. They will pay round-trip airfare for each year that I work there (it is a 2 year contract) as well as medical and visa costs.

I had heard of this school MANY times while in Honduras previously, as they were at the teacher conference and hosted (and usually won) most of the sports events that our school attended. I've been in contact with them for almost 2 years now, trying to get into the school. They e-mailed me out of the blue one day, asking if I was still interested in a position as they may have one available. This is a NEW position as of this year, so it wasn't even confirmed until today!

I feel SO blessed to be granted this opportunity. I called Walt and he was ecstatic - saying how much he's been praying for this to happen and so relieved that we'll finally be together. I cannot wait for August to get here! (although am very much looking forward to camp for July!) Time is just FLYING by!

Advertisement



3rd June 2009

Way to go Boo! I am so proud of you! It sounds like an awesome school and will be an amazing experience for you. But of course I will miss you again!
3rd June 2009

How exciting Sarah! I'm so happy for you. The school sounds wonderful and how perfect for you and Walter again! Hope you keep in touch through your blog as you travel through this new adventure. .... have a great time at camp until then...
3rd June 2009

Great for you!!
Sarah, I have been following your blogs since we decided to move our family down to Honduras a couple years ago. We moved to La Ceiba and things did not all work out, so we ended up moving back to the states. In Maine now and thrilled to see how you do in Tegus! Be careful! Enjoy every second and blog often with pics please. I love your stories. CL
3rd June 2009

CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!
Way to go Sarah! I had a feeling that this would work out for you, but I am so glad that it is official! I am so proud of you! I know that you will do amazing and the school will love you! CONGRATS HUN! xo
3rd June 2009

I am so happy for you... and Walter of course. He must be so happy right now! I haven't seen him in a couple of weeks but I am sure that when I do see him, he will be grinning from ear to ear.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb