Too Soon?


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Barrie
May 31st 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, looks as though I'll be going on yet another mystical journey! This time I only plan to be away for two weeks which is the exact length of time I managed to make it in Maldives, funny enough. An old friend has purchased a 45" sailboat to sail around the world. He's selling off portions of his trip to help with the cost of the boat and I happen to be 'funemployed' at just the right moment in time to be invited to learn to sail on their first ever mission!! How epic, the peanut gallery in the back of my head 'ouus' and 'ahhs' as if watching fireworks at the thought of it.

We'll be going to Portsmouth, New Hampshire by car to pick her up then sailing home! I just received the invitation today so I've picked up 'Sailing for Dummies' and I'll be on my way in no time! The manner in which I've chosen to remember which is port and which is starboard is, if it were Taylor Fladgate port there wouldn't be any 'left' *giggles*. I hope to have internet access, whether it be from cafe's or random hotspots at ports, if not my journey will be documented on paper and I'll summarize upon my save, happy and healthy return home. The adventure will also be documented through video for the purpose of the 'round the world mission, which I find quite exciting. I almost feel like a marry prankster, we'll wire the vicinity for sound and video and see what comes of it! I never have had a chance to watch any of Ken Kesey's footage but wouldn't you find it fascinating to know that the I'll be travelling with one Captain Ken on this great journey?

I've made a habit of collecting small musical instruments to keep in my purse at all times (what else are purses for really?). My newest addition is the jaw harp, I'm sure my mother cringes at even the thought of me be being in the same room as one but with one day of practise my teeth are likely out of harms way from this point forward. I've also got two harmonicas and two kazoos, which will become much more useful when I finally do make it to the Kalamazoo Zoo this summer. Not sure what the point of all the instrument talk is but to continue we will be staying in New Hampshire for a weeks time, hopefully some exploring will be done and a good, relaxing time will be had be all. And when i say relaxing what I really mean is a non-horrific-mosquito-born-illness-ankle-cracking-trip. On that note, as I willl choose which books to bring for the twelve hour car ride and week long stay in The Shire *giggles with a dorky snort at the end* I feel the need to bring along 'The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test' for Ken Kesey's sake, 'Necessary Illusions' Mr.Chomsky's massy lectures and I should find something delightful and happy to read when those two weigh on my heart.. oh ya 'sailing for dummies' it can't be all that heart breaking or mind twisting? At any rate, I'm off to bed to likely dream of rolling oceans and miniature panics of lost or forgotten possessions. Sweet dreams my dear readers, oh and maybe next entry I'll finally tell the rest of my story like I promised in my last entry.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb