Abu Dhabi Aaabu Abu Dhabi


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I couldn't help but to make an entry from Dubai for the very purpose of the title. The dust from the city prevented me from seeing anything from above but the airport isn't as impressive as I had heard from a poolside stranger. It looks as though the plague has hit with hundreds of people sleeping in rows on the floor. The strangest to me were the people who tucked themselves in behind the benches between the walls. They reminded me if injured puppies in India. After a quick walk around Dubai's newest terminal I decided to do as the Romans and find myself a pack of sleeping friends. I thought I might as well find a socket to see if I couldn't steal some internet. My prime location ended up being with a group of African ladies who seemed so cozy huddled on the floor. A way better choice then the arab men with their stinky feet dangling everywhere. Each person brings their own bedding, something to stretch out under them and one over. My ladies were quite prepared, with pillows and proper blankets, most people in my sleeping district were using newspaper as an undersheet.

Turns out that I had also found myself a sweet spot for free internet for the first time in my journey only my computer wouldn't charge and died the moment I realized I could actually surf. So i made my little bed and slept for about 3 hours. Sleep then became impossible due to a passenger transport vehicle whos reverse alarm seemed to be stuck. I then purchased two small metal camels one for the man who thought Dubai had all the answers and the other for a lady who would rescue me from the other end of it all. I went to gate123 and sat outside.. because in Dubai you may only sit within the confines of the gate one hour before the flight. So i watched hundreds of Indian people line up for no apparent reason and came to the realization that Indian people have a different way of forming lines then well the western world. It reminded me of watching traffic build up at a railcrossing in New Delhi. No rhyme or reason only chaos as it was as though their lives depended on getting through that gate, only to sit in a chair that was identical to the chair I was sitting on outside of the gate. People sure do behave strangely in airports.

At this point my Dengue rash was still quite prevalent, people made faces at me but it made me want to lick myself and make crazy eyes at them but I really didn't want to end up being scooped up by the authorities in a Middle Eastern country so I behaved myself.

The flight was a whole other story, we went over the north pole and once finished the route of the plane appeared on my touch screen to be a giant waste of time in its horseshoe like manner. But i'm sure it had something to do with following jet streams or something.

I had never heard as baby scream for 10 hours straight before, now i have. I also had the opportunity to view some on flight theatrics. An Iranian man and his family sitting in front of me were doing it! They were making the big move to Canada! I knew this because I was reading his study sheets from over his shoulder. Its interesting, the types of things they ask people to study to become a citizen. Anyway he and his wife and daughter were all wearing sars masks, I'm pretty sure it was out of fear of the great swine flu. When the husband starts freaking out. His passport is gone! His passport and laptop bag, they're gone and someone STOLE THEM! He's frantically opening up overhead compartments and rooting through peoples belongings. The look on the flight attendants face was sheer panic waving her supervisor over to deal with the situation. They were making people lift their feet to see who in fact was the culprit who stole this irate Iranian man's belongings. I do feel guilty for being mildly amused at his state of unnecessary panic as his belongings were found in his designated overhead compartment. But the man obviously has some sort of paranoid delusional disorder.

Throughout the flight it always appeared that something as going seriously wrong with the flight crew. A feeling of impending doom lingered in my stomach as you always look to flight attendants to be the composed ones. In retrospect I'll assume that there were at least 4 trainees on that flight and that would be the cause of the majority of the chaos. Chatting to one flight attendant while waiting for my lovely airport-pick-up-superhero to return from the washroom I realized that the majority of them were from Ottawa.. strange enough, or not?

I will write a final entry soon, perhaps tell the remainder of my story and feelings on the matter tomorrow when I feel a little more like I'm actually home. I will also at that time explain my reasoning and fill in a hole or two left by the panic and swiftness of my departure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb