Disappointment...tour cancelled.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
October 8th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Salty Bear cancelled
What a huge disappointment
Four days. Halifax!

Well the remaining two day tour with Salty Bear was officially cancelled this morning. Kev, our van, was in desperate need of repairs and apparently there were no vans available for rent. So that means I'll be missing out on Peggy's Cove, Annapolis Royal and the Bay of Fundy.

To make myself feel a little bit better I saw on the weather channel that there is a big meteorological warning out for the area...lots and lots of rains are on the way! So after hearing the bad weather forecast it didn’t seem so bad after all. It's not that great travelling about and trying to sightsee when it is pouring rain out.

Instead I made the most of my day and had a bite to eat with Viv who was also supposed to be on the two day tour. Viv headed over to the Citadel to do some touristy stuff while headed down to the Pier 21 Museum. Pier 21 is where a lot of immigrants passed through into Canada between 1928 and 1971 and where half a million soldiers passed through on their way to the Second World War. Although none of my ancestors passed through Pier 21, a lot of questions did pop into my head especially in regards to what it must have been like for my parents when they were coming to Canada back in the 50's. I can't even begin to imagine having to say goodbye, fitting into a new country/culture/society, learning a new language and way of life, meeting new people...you get the idea.

I also made sure to pay a visit to the Halifax Farmer's Market where there were lots of food and craft stalls to browse. Excellent! My favourite was the stall where the woman was selling hand bound books. Really gave me the itch to want to do some crafting myself. Then I noticed that her daughter was also at the table selling some Girl Guide Chocolate Mint cookies! Wow, is it cookie selling time already! So I had to buy a box and I chatted with the little Guide and her mom for a while before moving on.

I had a pretty subdued night in since I didn't feel like going out with Viv and Tania since from what I've seen get a little too drunk and I wasn't up to being the designated walker yet again! haha


Advertisement



Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb