Walkabout Halifax


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Halifax
October 3rd 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Touristy walk 'bout town
Quiet day in Halifax
Train tickets in hand!

I ended up staying up til about midnight last night just chatting with my English roomies...definitely not with the Chinese woman in our room! I said hello to her when she came into the room and she totally ignored me! Talk about icy! LOL

I'm just about caught up on all of my missing sleep and rolled outta bed close to 10AM this morning. I saw the sun shining and felt a tad guilty for being inside so I forced myself to not be so lazy. 😊

Once I got up it was no problem. Basically I walked around downtown for a bit. Checked out the Citadel and some of the views from there and walked along the water. Three huge cruise ships are in port today - The Crown Princess, Crystal Symphony and the Queen Mary 2. It's been a nice day just cruising about and doing nothing in particular.

Oh yeah, I went and bought my train ticket from Via Rail today. There is one train a day that arrives and departs everyday (well except for Tuesday I think). It sure is different from when I was taking the train in France and German! Guess I won't have any trouble finding out which track to go to. lol My first train ride heading west will depart on Monday, October 17. I'm getting excited but am also excited about the upcoming travels around the rest of Nova Scotia and bits of New Brunswick and PEI that starts tomorrow with the Salty Bear. Then I'll have a couple more days back here in Halifax before flying to St. John's, Newfoundland for a few days. The day after flying back to Halifax is when I start my train journey. First stop will be Quebec City. How exciting! It's been well over 10 years since I was there last. Hmm, thinking about it, I think it's been at least 13 years! Yikes! Where does the time go???

As for the rest of today, I plan on checking out the Taj Mahal restaurant that is around the corner from my hostel and then it'll be a quiet night in. I'll probably just end up watching TV in the common room or do some reading. Who knows what'll end up happening.

On that note, I'll end the blog entry here...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lobsters on parade.Lobsters on parade.
Lobsters on parade.

Just an example of one of many lobsters that were on display in downtown Halifax.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb