Life back in Vancouver...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
June 15th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

summer tulipssummer tulipssummer tulips

Tulips in full bloom with the mountians framing the photo
Hello, hello!

Well, in good old Traveler’s Blog fashion, I decided to throw a few words together with some pictures I have been collecting the last few months... I know, I know, there aren't that many photos - but I'm trying!

We've had a mix of weather, which works quite well for me since I have been working so much: it's nice not to be stuck at work when the sun is shining - staring outside and thinking of all the things I could be doing! But it's also nice to have a few good days when I do manage to get some time to get out...

The good news is that I am managing (somehow) to get out... I have been snowshoeing, hiking, climbing, and horseback riding a fair bit recently and I am hoping for more to come. Of course, I have still been training, as always, and saving a little bit of time to study up for my next big trip - yep, it's on the horizon and it's another big one... South from Mexico through Central America and onto South America for as long as the money holds out (hence the incessant working for
My GPSMy GPSMy GPS

okay - so I may or may not have still gotten lost... but I now have a portable GPS!!!
now!).


So, I have four jobs, and they are keeping me very busy, but I think I can make my budget and depending on how everything goes I will have to see if I have time to come home for a month or two before my Africa-trip with my mom...Of course, I am still training and even picking up more hobbies… recently Capoeira and tactical training have found themselves into my weekly schedule and I am loving the new challenge… not to mention, making as much time as possible for riding!!!



The plans for Africa are well underway, and they are a bit more solid than South America, mostly because we are on a restricted time-line (6 weeks) and we have 3 main goals (if possible) - climbing Mt. kilimanjaro (specifically on a full moon if we can pull it off), hiking into the rainforest to see the gorillas, and hitting the reserves and safari's during migration. Our aim for that one will be to leave in July and come back for September, so that I can (hopefully) take the 12 month bachelor of education program at UBC - making me a licensed grade-school teacher
Hiking...Hiking...Hiking...

... chekcing out the options ;0)
anywhere in Canada (fingers crossed that I get accepted!!!).


So, with all that in mind, and an intended South America departure for october-ish, I am saving up as much as I can, and making time for some local trips to visit the important people ;0) I am hoping to do a trip with my mother and grandmother to see the grand canyon, and I will be making my way to Toronto this summer to spend some time with my brothers.


And, interestingly enough, one of my jobs is special event security (I know, a bit left field, but surprisingly fun), so I am still managing to see more concerts than ever and even a few baseball and football games! But, the best part is that I will be camping for a few weeks during the Pemberton music festival with a bunch of friends!!! Of course, the security balances out the two office jobs I am holding along with “extra work” - no pun intended. Yep - I did some good ‘ol head shots and sent my picture out to be famous… or paid, rather! I am basically doing a few background sets on local TV shows,
a nice refreshing river...?a nice refreshing river...?a nice refreshing river...?

... one of the only times I was not tempted enough to jump in - oh and did I mention it fed into a rushing waterfall just a few feet away... ;0)
which is great because they keep you in a holding area most of the day until they need people wandering around in the background, so I have been able to get a head start on my travel research!

So, that’s me for now, and of course, there is sure to be more soon…

Trish xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

I love it!I love it!
I love it!

It's great to be riding again - even if it's just playing around...
Me & Louis...Me & Louis...
Me & Louis...

... on TJ & Grandeur
Me & GrandeurMe & Grandeur
Me & Grandeur

Now that's a smile!
More mountains & tulipsMore mountains & tulips
More mountains & tulips

Now that's a picture
Me & My Wonderful BrotherMe & My Wonderful Brother
Me & My Wonderful Brother

Check out the hair - I think we are officially in competition!
ahhh vancouverahhh vancouver
ahhh vancouver

it really is an amazing city!


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb