Grand Canyon!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
August 1st 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Epic Panorama...Epic Panorama...Epic Panorama...

Can you see me?! Top right corner!!!!
Hello Hello,

Well, it's been a while now that I've been home and saving up for the next big adventure - and of course, keeping busy! In the past few months I managed to make it out east for a nice rejuvenating visit with my brothers and family out that way, then I survived the Pemberton Music festival, did a wonderful trip to the Grand canyon and had laser eye surgery!

The grand canyon is one of those amazing things that just blows you mind... when I first saw it, it registered that it was an incredible sight - you know, the same as the one we see on television or in magazines... but day by day I appreciated it all the more. You see, I opted for a day hike to the plateau of the Canyon - overlooking the Colorado river (but not descending to the actual river as it is not possible for a day hike). Now, as much as one appreciates a gorge from the top - there is an entirely different appreciation when you are dropping hundreds of feet down at an incredible rate and testing out your canyon-legs.

Not to mention, it took
Me!Me!Me!

now that's some serious blending ;0)
us 4-5 hours to drive from the south rim to the north rim. Along the winding road, we followed perpetual rim, with non-stop lookouts and picture-perfect views. It's amazing how your eyes take in the whole image, but as you drive along an endless rim, it does make you realize, at least more that your initial understanding, the enormity of the Grand Canyon.

We also managed to make our way to a few of the near by sights - Antelope Canyon for some incredible rock formations and sunbeams that shoot down. And, of course, among my amusement with the local flora, we made a day of visiting slide rock. The name slide rock is ideal - that's just what it is - a natural stream/river that flows over some unique red rocks, creating an all natural water slide (though I must say - it could be a wee bit bumpy at times...) but it was a blast!

So, despite my vision being blurry (they say it takes a month to adjust...) and a serious addiction to sunglasses (some lasting light sensitivity) I am back to working as much as I can, while plotting the next adventure...

Off
I love itI love itI love it

.. and no this picture was not obtained without drawing blood ;0)
to Hawaii in September and still aiming for an october-ish departure for my "Going South" adventure... I've already renewed my passport (ran out of space, despite two years left on it!) and am hitting up travel resources & vaccinations ;0)

... until the next one...

Trish xxx
Trish xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Antelope Canyone...Antelope Canyone...
Antelope Canyone...

The light shining through was just amazing!
More antelope canyon...More antelope canyon...
More antelope canyon...

well worth the side-trip!
me...me...
me...

perched
Bring Angel Trail....Bring Angel Trail....
Bring Angel Trail....

see the rout to the plateau? the path goes into the green deep in the canyon and then out hte otherside to the mid part of the picture in the barren desert where it overlooks the Colorado River!
me...me...
me...

one the plateau!
too cool!too cool!
too cool!

... and possibly my future house... hahaha
Rock Slide!Rock Slide!
Rock Slide!

sooo much fun!
apparently they're used to people!apparently they're used to people!
apparently they're used to people!

... and he's using the signs to find the campground ;0)


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb