Not sure why this didn't publish on the 2nd....sorry bout that....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
March 4th 2010
Published: March 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, here we are at the end of the Games. I cannot believe that my journey is nearly over. This is my last night in Whistler, off to Vancouver tomorrow and then flying back to good old Scotland on the 3rd.

To have been here for this has been a wee dream come true. I'm not sure if I can completely put it into words. Yesterday alone--being in Whistler watching the Gold Medal game live with 1000's of people in red and white was unreal. I've deduced that being at live sports events (especially when Canada's competing) is addictive. I wish that I could've gone down to Vancouver to see some of the events there (men's speed-skating, OMG.), but am so happy with my experience here in Whistler.

The energy here is something I will never forget. I'm convinced that the reason we won yesterday was from the 80% of Canada tuning in to watch and having one collective mindset. Being in the village afterwards was like something I've only ever seen on TV. ...although Scotland beating Australia in the autumn tests this year was pretty close. Everyone was absolutely beserk with our win. The guy beside me while we were watching the sudden death overtime-madness actually picked me up, kissed me and swung me around when the goal went in the net. I know that for the rest of my life I will always know where I was when we won that game, and for the entire Olympics in general.

Watching all the news wrapping up the events of the past month is pretty emotional--I am so very proud to be Canadian, and to have contributed to this spectacle. None of the athletes that I massaged became medal winners, but they were all so amazing and lovely to work with!

The friendships I've made and the incredible people I've come into contact with is satisfaction alone for being out here. I am so glad I did this. I'm hoping to be part of London 2012 as well, but I know it'll never be the same as being out here.

When I'm in Scotland and missing home, I often look up videos of Canada or someone's performance of Oh Canada--being here surrounded by Canadians and singing Oh Canada whenever I want and having a crowd of people join in every time is something I truly cherish. I am definetly re-thinking my plans for the next little while, not sure where I want to be. Coming back and especially coming to BC for the first time has been so nice. You really can go home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.7kb