Edinburgh Ponderances...pics of Games to follow soon!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 9th 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been back in my precious Scotland for 4 days.....funny thing is, it feels like I never left. Not sure if that's a good thing. It is definetly hard being back, after leaving Canada on such a high. I know that the energy and emotions I experienced at the Games are completely ephemeral, never to be re-created. I know that if (when?) I go back to Canada in the near future it won't be like that. But I think that my compass needle has taken a swing west for the first time in a while, and I have to follow.

I've come to the wee realization that I'm lucky enough to be able to leave my family--doesn't that sound weird? But in doing so, it means I have the choice to stay and be with them as well, and not everyone gets that when aformentioned family is in good fodder. I'm very fortunate to be able to choose time with my loved ones, and I think that the next chunk of my life may take me that way. Tough choice as I am constantly pulled (it seems) to skip around the globe. However, I've learned that there's a lot of Canada that I haven't become acquainted with--Tofino really rammed that home for me.

So we'll see...at the moment I'm going to stay in Edinburgh, save some cash and who knows. If a job opportunity in Fiji that I can't turn down comes up, I may go do that. I have a feeling about the whole thing, and while I'm not sure the colour or intensity of it, I have a feeling it's morphing into the shape of a maple leaf....

Advertisement



27th March 2010

Livin' the dream indeed!!
Howdy!! Got a little behind but had time to catch up today. Reading them all in a row, you realize how many of your entries begin with sadness to be leaving BC...no wonder you're headed that way. I LOVED reading your descriptions of your experiences with the people and the games. What an energy to have experienced daily...it was absolutely dripping off you. So happy for you and thanks for spreading the excitement!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb