We thought we might be able to climb this....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour!

Whistler was a blast. We had such a great time seeing the beautiful mountains and enjoying a rather relaxed weekend. The bus drive was interesting, two yellow school buses for 96 people and a terribly cramped bottom later we were there! The drive up was incredible as many people informed me of - driving through the mountains was so georgous and has me looking forward to my trip to the rockies with my dad.

The first day there we had dinner at the Ol' Spaghetti Factory and then went out to a little bar called the "Savage Beagle". This was a good time as we got free cover and a free drink. The girls and I ended up dancing about 2 1/2 hours of the night and then headed home. Now, we were told to be very careful walking alone at night and to be careful in general. I must say, I thought that this warning was in place for some of the 'interesting' characters in Whistler, however, after seeing a coyote come about 15 feet away from us out of the bushes I now understand more about why you should always travel in twos!

The next day we took up the gondala to the top of Whistler mountain (about 33.00 with tax, but well worth the views). I was quite terrified of the gondala on the way up (always have been) but did enjoy the sights I saw and managed to focus on this. Once at the top there were incredible views and still some snow. It was the last day of boarding for everyone so it was fun to still see people in action up there. We had hoped to do the new "peak to peak" gondola, however, it was closed for renovations and review as it had just undergone it's first season. Next time I will do that, next time!

After all of this fun and adventure some of us headed to shop while others (including myself) went to the lodge's pool that we were staying in. The weather and sun were great (29 degrees). That night I decided to stay in with my friend Carolyn and we ended up watching TV and eating cookies (more fun than the bar to be honest). Had a great morning and we enjoyed the afternoon walking around in Whistler.

All in all for 110.00 (2 nights accomodation, pizza party and two complimentary continental breakfasts) you can't go wrong. I feel so lucky and alive to have seen the mountains!

Enjoy the pics!
Love you all and miss you!!!
Kerri



Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



1st June 2009

Im coming!
Seriously Kerri, I am coming to the west coast. Perhaps we shall miss each other but your blog is giving me lots of good ideas. I leave on the June 15 and will be in Vancouver around the 2nd or 3rd of July.
4th June 2009

ckleinveld@rogers.com
Hi Kerri.. Love the pics. I will be sure to show them to Grandpa. Glad to hear you are having a great time, but seriously are you actually learning french...lol love you lots too.
4th June 2009

Merci
Bonjour Ma Tante Chris! Well, I am learning French (each day for about 4 1/2 hours) but as soon as we leave the classroom no one really attempts to speak in French so it is hard. I have made a new personal goal though to speak as much french as possible - even if I don't know the words - I will search them and then say them. LOL It is going to be very difficult but I figure it will exercise my brain. How is the puppy? Did you say it's name was "jackson"?

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb