LHR to YVR and beyond


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 6th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

LHR to Whistler


Our houseOur houseOur house

In the middle of our street - Casabella Crescent
Today's soundtrack is The Airplane Song by Scouting for Girls.

I always forget how long it takes to get to western Canada... Keith very kindly took me to Heathrow at 0800 GMT Tuesday morning and I finally arrived at my new home for the next 3 months at around 2000 Pacific Time so only 20 hours in transit! The flight was pretty uneventful and we drove from Vancouver in the dark so not much to tell there. Things that livened the journey:

* the mad old bat sitting across the aisle who ignored all seatbelt signs during turbulence, told the entire cabin that she had no spoon for her ice cream (we all pointed out that it was inside the lid) and in profile bore a startling resemblance to Tom Baker
* the Air Canada hostess who seemed to take a dislike to Ed (a course-mate who was next to me on the plane, was entertainment in his own right and looks scarily like a guy I did geology with) and proceeded to be exceptionally rude to him for the rest of the flight (to be fair, he played up to it just a tiny bit)
* the older Irish guy
Hot tub!Hot tub!Hot tub!

The view from our living room window with our hot tub in the foreground
who is also on the course who should have known better than to get roaringly drunk on the plane - he finally got into the country, but rather later than the rest of us
* the sheer number of young "dudes" on the plane, all vying with one another for the title of worst dressed boarder and most public school accent...

So I'm here and I have a really lovely house in the Montebello area of Whistler which I'm sharing with 4 others - Callum (a publisher, the most English sounding Scot I've ever met and reminds me spookily of Gareth!), Tiarnan (Irish web developer), Greg (Aussie lawyer who is the spitting image of EMI's MD in South Africa) and my room mate Kerry (South African accountant). All in all a good bunch I think and rumour has it that we have the best accommodation in the place! I'm pretty sure that it's the one on this webpage but I've posted some of my own pictures too.

The boys and I have just been out for our first Whistler beers and dinner (Kerry didn't arrive until later so missed out on that) and I've now been awake for
My roomMy roomMy room

I have the bed with the view
26 hours straight so time for bed...



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kitchen/dining roomKitchen/dining room
Kitchen/dining room

Not a great photo but you get the idea


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb