The Canadian tour begins...in Beautiful British Columbia


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
March 30th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Stanley Park and the CityStanley Park and the CityStanley Park and the City

Walking over Lions Gate gives you a nice perspective of the city
Having returned to Vancouver so many times over the last few years, I was excited to be arriving out of character. I wasn't rolling a suitcase behind me through the gates at the beautiful Vancouver airport, nor was I jumping off of a seaplane from the Island. The train transport was a great ending to my American journey as I had watched an Oscar winning movie and filed my nails to perfection, whilst viewing familiar ground through the window. I was the first off the train from Seattle, wearing my Indiana Jones hat and hoisting my life pack onto my back. The customs official questioned me on why I wasn't using my Canadian passport (awful picture) and began flipping through the pages looking for an available corner for the final stamp. The final stamp! Although the travels are not over, my UK passport has been filled to the max. I'm back in Canada, as a Canadian, though still sounding like a Brit.


So where do I start? After catching up on laundry and home cooking I joined mom and Ian for a day of snowshoeing; not even 24 hours home and I'm back to enjoying outdoor life! As with the other mountains in the Vancouver area, the trails behind Hollyburn were smothered in fresh snow. The blue skies, the footsteps up and down pumping fresh air into the lungs, compounded with the simple pleasure of being home, invigorated me and built up an eagerness to maintain this outlook. I am just passing through Vancouver; this stop really is just to recharge the batteries for a few days but I certainly couldn't have started off a better way!


I met up with Maria on St. Patrick's Day to also celebrate her birthday at the Commodore downtown. Green beer, green hearts and a fiddle backing us up for the entire night ensured that a good time was had by all. I had last seen Maria for a quick lunch in Singapore, so there were a lot of stories and life directions to catch up on. I next caught up with my dad, who seems to have become a sushi connoisseur over the last few years, although I know there are many other Vancouverites who could also claim this title. The raw fish shacks seem to open new locations every day, as demand is certainly not falling. Curiosity got the
Kiersten and I Kiersten and I Kiersten and I

Being the angels we've always been
better of me so I googled how many sushi shops there were in Greater Vancouver. I never would have guessed the approximate figure of 2000!


I began the game of catch up coffees with friends slowly, in order to appreciate my time off from the holiday. I discovered new and old areas whilst traipsing everywhere on foot. My elementary school looked the same, the teenager skateboarding down the steep slopes of North Van (with a coffee in hand-I swear!!) did not. Even though North Van is a suburb on the edge of a mountain, I was struck by the amount of trees. Most people cut them down for a better view, but it seems like the locals here are ensuring all is not lost. New houses creep higher and higher every year as the population of Greater Vancouver soars to 2 million.


When I had had enough of the North Shore, I began walking over Lions Gate Bridge and through Stanley Park. Seeing this city through the eyes of a tourist is certainly giving me a few additional perspectives of Vancouver. Like the statue on a rock overlooking the rollerbladers along the Seawall; I always thought
Mom and meMom and meMom and me

Day 1 in Vancouver and I've all ready strapped on the snow shoes with mom
it was a mermaid. The statue is actually a female scuba diver. Now how many people living in Vancouver actually know that? For the last 30 years, she has stared out looking for some recognition so I said my farewells and continued walking. The people I passed (rather, they passed me running or using some sort of wheels!) seemed to be shining the sun back to everybody through their pearly whites. Appreciation for the sunshine is always more noticable in cities that have heavier rainfall! As they always say in Vancouver, one day of sun makes up for 10 days of rain.


I went to see a show from a featured traveller/ writer from the Vancouver Sun. Modern Gonzo (www.moderngonzo.com), aka Robin Esrock, showed off his photos from his 24 country tour. It was interesting to see a different perspective of familiar towns around the world, but it did stir my itchy feet to get on the road more quickly. I won the door prize which was a great distraction to my travelling thoughts! Like many others, I approached Robin at the end of the show for some tips on working in the travel writing industry but settled on a future meeting as the night was approaching the end of the pub drinking hours!


So back to the social scene in Vancouver! I pigged out on some great greek food (no more sushi for a couple of days!!) with Sara downtown. Catching up with gal pals from the past is always a laugh, especially when their lives are moving in inspirational directions. This meeting lead to another reunion with my friend Kiersten. Every time we opened our mouths another memory was sparked and we were hysterically giggling as we had done as teenagers. We encouraged the memories with the box of notes I've hidden in mom's basement for the last 15 years.

"Who's this guy that you've put in hearts over and over?"

"Who cares about that, do you remember our drunken snowboarding trip down to Baker?" (we weren't really drinking mom, it was all an act!)

Having lived abroad for so many years, I suppose I have missed out on the chance to continue some friendships over the years. But then when we eventually re-unite, I feel as though I have a parental pride seeing the lives they have established. Of course,
The LionsThe LionsThe Lions

Walking around on the North shore, looking up to these peaks made me feel quite at home!
some friends can go in different directions and we lose touch, that's life. But I'm excited to be picking up with a few friends, even if they are forcing me into an 'aunty' role as they have little ones running around their feet!


Mom and I met up with my step sister Debbie next. We watched an award winning South African movie (Tstosi-very real) after filling up on the traditional sushi of Vancouver. Dishes sounding more like a form of yoga rattled off their tongues and I still sat stumped on what to order. My sushi eating years haven't stepped over the combo ordering barrier I'm afraid! Luckily, I consumed everything with pleasure. So much so that when it would have been the ideal time to whip out my camera for some blog clicking action, I innocently stared into space (slacking tourist, I know!). When Debbie gets married in a few months time, I'll definitely be snapping away like mad!


The door prize that I won at the Modern Gonzo talk was a pleasure I couldn't save for my return to Vancouver. My mom and I indulged in a chocolate buffet at a 5 star hotel
DowntownDowntownDowntown

From near mom's house
in downtown. It was a heavenly experience that had both of us speechless. Tasting the dark, white and milk delights that ran as fountains over fresh fruit, or formed pyramids on silver platters, became a night that I will certainly never forget. And to any woman living in or visiting Vancouver, GO GO GO! Leave the man with the remote control and indulge!


My time in Vancouver has certainly been different from any other place I have visited on this trip sofar. It's the people in this town that make this such a different city for me to visit. Family, friends and the kind outdoorsy bodies of the West Coast life are so appealing. I was amazed at the beauty (and this is after seeing so many other stunning cities around the world) but I'm always amazed at the beauty of Vancouver! Skyscrapers continue to change the skyline, more so in 2008 when the 61 stories of Shangri-La are completed. Yet, despite all of the glass living towers filling in empty lots, the city never loses its outdoor appreciation as a result of the surrounding snow capped mountains and salty ocean breezes in the air. Having said all
Maria and I Maria and I Maria and I

It wasn't just St. Paddy's Day, but Maria's birthday!
that, I'm not sure if I really will end up living in the city next, as I'm still playing with the idea of life in Kelowna. Time will tell, I only plan one week at a time these days!!


The last thing I expected to be doing during my Vancouver visit, was attending a stagette party starting off with a full range of sex toys. My friend Sara introduced me to the crowd, and a few other familiar faces from high school popped into the picture (Mel and Tamara). I swear to God, I had no idea where and how some of the toys were designed to be used! It looked as though some of the fluorescent and bouncy items suited DisneyLand for adults! Best for the bride- to- be to discover! Even though I didn't know all the girls, we had many laughs as we then ventured over to a local club. Even on a Monday night, the groovers were grooving and the players were playin. I drank and stumbled and eventually made it over to another day.


After a few more sushis with dad, coffees with Tash (another gal pal that has an encouraging career and family change!) my time in Vancouver is up. No more being lazy; I have the rest of Canada to tour!! I re-evaluated everything that I packed into my bag knowing I didn't need to pack for experiencing the entire world. I added to the boxes of goods that I've been sending home since the beginning of the trip (it was like Christmas when I first saw everything!) and said my farewells. I stepped up onto the Greyhound bus and for the first time in nearly two weeks (the longest stop over in one place!) my thoughts are really on my own again. I feel a return of adventurism and the travelling freedom I have grown to love more than anything I have ever experienced. I snuggle down into my seat wrapped in my blanket and prepare for the day of movies. I drifted in and out of the land of snoozes, and woke up just in time to get off. My true Canadian adventure hasn't really begun afterall, as I stepped foot in Kelowna to visit another dear friend for a few days.


I scooped up Kathy's kids Brianna and Cameron and began hearing the highlights of life in the first grade and what pop stars were the coolest to listen to. Hearing their whirlwind tales was overwhelming, I have no idea how to keep up...and I'm only 31!! Kathy filled me in on the latest gossip and I took it all in with the appropriate facial expressions. I looked at the family holiday in Mexico photos and reflected on how different my holiday there had been. I love how such cherished friends can lead such extremley opposite lifestyles. We can fill in gaps for each other. I may have the advantage now with no kids in tow, but when Kathy and Christian get to travel the world in 20 years with more disposable money, she'll definitely have the last laugh!! For my second night with the gang, we cruised up the road to a new condo they've invested in. It was bliss. Just 30 minutes outside of town, on a lake surrounded by howling coyotes at night time. Now, I really feel like the adventure is beginning!!


I boarded the bus for Calgary the following day, just slightly envious of the comfy beds that everybody else I knew would have for the night.
Sexy manSexy manSexy man

Muscle and tunes...couldn't get better really!
But then again, I will be the one seeing new things in the morning. Now, the Canadian adventure begins.


The next super catch up blog will be coming from Alberta.


Until then,

Fiona





















Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Mom and meMom and me
Mom and me

The heavenly chocolate buffet was a blissful experience for us both!
The DiverThe Diver
The Diver

For my whole life I always thought this Stanley Park statue was a mermaid. This time I opened my eyes to discover she was actually a diver!
Lions Gate Brideg from belowLions Gate Brideg from below
Lions Gate Brideg from below

Well, from the Stanley Park Seawall anyway
Vancouver SkylineVancouver Skyline
Vancouver Skyline

the Vancouver skyline wouldn't be complete without a few cranes building more skyscrapers
English BayEnglish Bay
English Bay

It's called an inukshuk, the stacking rocks that is
Granville IslandGranville Island
Granville Island

The popular Vancouver market that isn't really an island
My most prized picture!!My most prized picture!!
My most prized picture!!

Thank you Brianna! I'll have it forever!


28th April 2006

Fi U are amazing , just in case i haven't told u a couple a times alreeady. I#m already looking forward to u arriving in Alberta and posting ur next entry :-)
28th April 2006

Miss you already
Fiona, it's been great having you here - Hope you have a great trip. I feel honored to have been a waypoint on your adventures, meeting people like you is one of best things about my job - all my best! Paul
29th April 2006

I love Fiona - Brianna
I miss you a lot Auntie Fiona. At school my student teacher brought a baby wallaby. And the wallaby was 5 months old. I am in T-ball with Cameron, it is a lot of fun. Our uniforms are grey, black and orange. My number is 6 and Cameron is 1 cause he is the smallest. Have fun in New York. Love Brianna
30th April 2006

Cheers Brianna!
Now how has Brianna managed to make her comment look like I wrote it?!? I promise you...it wasn't me! Thanks Brianna, you're all ready a computer whiz kid! Looking forward to seeing some t-ball photos!! -Fiona

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb