'Tis the Season


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
December 26th 2009
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Seems a bit strange to be updating this blog now from Australia in January, but our time in Canada was a bit of a whirlwind so it was hard to find a minute to get around to updating the blog, better late than never I guess so here goes...

We continued on with our theme of eating, drinking and meeting up with friends and family for most of December. Brett ended up working for a week or so doing some reno type work for his parents neighbour, and then a few days of concrete while I hung out with my parents and caught up with a few friends, and did some shopping (good thing Brett was working!).

We even had a few days of snow in Vancouver before Christmas, which was great, it always feels more like Christmas with a bit of snow on the ground. It did end up turning to rain though and washing the snow away, so it wasn't a white Christmas, it actually ended up being nice and sunny.

We spent Christmas Eve at my parents place, with my brother and Maggie, my Uncle Gerry and Auntie Eileen, and 2 cousins Sarah and Kerri, and Sarah's cute daughter Katie who had us all cracking up with some of things she would say. We had our traditional Ukrainian Christmas Eve dinner which we had really been missing! Don't think we could get enough perogies! And after I spent an afternoon with my mom, Brett's mom and my cousins learning how to make them, I will for sure be making some back in Australia. We stayed overnight at my parents, and spent Christmas morning with them and my brother and Maggie and then made our way to Brett's parents in the afternoon. We had another Christmas there, and Brett's sister Megan and her husband had flown in on Christmas Eve from South Korea for a quick 6 day trip, so it was nice to see them. We had a yummy, huge Christmas Dinner and were all so stuffed, vowing to not eat again for a week, but that never really works when you have all those leftovers!

Next up New Years at Mt Baker.






Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb