Pinch me..is it really true??


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
November 12th 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Welcome Home Bonnie!Welcome Home Bonnie!Welcome Home Bonnie!

Nick and his "friends" had a little welcome home party for me in my unrecognizable room...
It's almost surreal
Surprised my whole family, with
a ring on the phone.

Pinch me! I can't believe that I've been home for about 24 hours now! It's been great. Yesterday, after finally pulling into Via's Vancouver Station and then having to wait for ages for my baggage to come out I headed towards Main and Terminal to catch the bus home. I tell you, that bus ride home seemed almost as long as the previous 26 hours I had just spent on the train from Edmonton. lol

I got off one stop before my stop since I had two last postcards to mail and then crossed the lights as I dialed home. Hmm, the first time I tried I got the voicemail after 5 rings...hey, that's my voice. haha So I figured that everyone was still sleeping so I ringed up again. Finally after three rings Laura picked up. The conversation went something like this...
L: "Hey Bon! Where are you?"
B: "I'm on Main Street."
L: "Okay, I'll come pick you up."
B: "Um, I don't think that will be necessary since I'm at the top of the block."
L: "What? You're crazy."
We talked some more...
My they've grown!My they've grown!My they've grown!

That's me with Jacqueline and Nicholas. I can't believe how much they've grown since I saw them last. But I guess that's what kids do. :)

L: "You walk too slow...” lol

Then I was greeted at the door by Laura and then Lainie woke up and greeted me with more hugs. Good times!

Then I phoned my parents right away...and it went something like this...
Mom: "Hey Bon! Nice to hear from you. Where are you now?"
B: "Um, in the living room."
M: "What? You're home already?"

Then I called my sister Yvonne and had a similar conversation but also got to talk to my nephew Nick and niece Jacqueline. It was so nice to hear their voices. As I was talking to them I walked into my room and saw all of the stuff that has accumulated there from the past year. Then as I'm talking to Jacqueline I see a huge box at the end of my bed with my name on it. Hey, I don't remember buying anything and having it shipped from the Museum of Civilization in Gatineau (Hull), Quebec. Ohmigawd! I think I won something from the postal museum since I do remember answering three questions for a chance to win a prize pack. As I was excitedly talking with Jacqueline I was also excitedly opening my package. Inside were some awesome things for the kids...a stuffie of a cat, playing cards, collector stamps, a special edition of the Loonie and some stamps, a t-shirt, a bobblehead doll and a stamp collecting starter kit. Apparently on the 28th of October (at least that's the date on the congratulatory letter is marked) my ballot with the correct entries was drawn and I won this awesome prize pack worth $100! Wow, this is becoming a great day for good surprises!

Anyhoo, Jac and I talked for a bit more before realizing that we should get off of the phone so that they could come over and we would be able to see one another! When they eventually came over it was hugs all around with Nick, Jac and Yvonne. Nick was so sweet. He had a few of his stuffies dressed up in some party hats that he made and had a little "Welcome Home Bonnie" Party in my room.

I also phoned my sister Lorraine who had gone out already.
Lorraine: "Hey Bon! Where are you now?"
B: "Um, in the kitchen."
...you get the idea.

To be continued...


Advertisement



13th November 2005

HAPPY!
Hi Bonnie, What a lovely blog. Im so happy to hear that you're home, safe and happy. Well done, girl. You've done so well. Im very happy for you. Good times! Love your friend, Robyn
16th November 2005

Great to hear your home safe
Loved reading all your blogs. Hoped you liked visiting Ontario. Talk to you soon

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb