Blame Canada!


Advertisement
Published: August 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Man. They did not want to let me into Canada. In their defense, I think it was my fault. Scruffy and traveling alone with a single small bag was bad enough, but I did not help myself. My first mistake was taking our friendly/allies relationship with Canada for granted. The second problem was that my border agent was a very attractive woman who looked really good in her uniform. The first girl I talk to across the border and she is grilling me on my plans in her country. Next thing I know there is another woman, just as attractive, I swear she came out of nowhere! They are battering me with question after question. (It did not help that I am staying in an Airbnb known as the Zenhut with a host named Fly!) Mercifully, these young woman turned me over to some burly gentleman, with large handguns. They were asking all the same questions, but I could at least focus. They asked if they could do a background check and I confidently said yes, though I do not believe they needed my permission. They asked me to wait in another room. After a few minutes, they handed me back my passport and wished me a pleasant vacation. I did not quite believe they meant it. Why do I think their American buddies have something planned for me upon my return? Welcome to Canada.



Fly told me to go to a coffee shop to get the keys to the Zenhut. (That really happened). At the coffee shop, a woman handed me the keys as soon as I mentioned Fly's name. With no cell service finding the Zenhut was a challenge, but at least I got to see some of West Vancouver's sites and get a little acclimated. When I reached the Zenhut, Fly was here cooking me dinner. Salmon and vegetables that he got from his job crewing fancy yachts. He gave me a quick tour and left me in peace at the Zenhut. Fly and his accommodations are just as I had imagined. The Zenhut has more square footage of gardens then of apartment. I am surrounded by greenery and Eastern symbols of peace. (Please see the photos). English Bay is just steps away and this neighborhood is filled with bars and breweries, running trails and minutes from Stanley Park. I feel the Zen coming on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



15th August 2015

don't make me nervous!
Why didn't u ask to take a picture of the pretty border agents? JK I don't think u look scruffy.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb