The rest of the day...


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Well this had already been an epic day, but I was not finished. I fancied a pint, so I found a place called the Taphouse. 160 beers on tap, I was overwhelmed. I ordered the Northwestern Sampler of 4 six-ounce glasses. I was disappointed with the offering. All but the RPM IPA were less than the Northwest's best I would say.



After my beer break, I walked back to Pike's, but they were still not throwing fish. The place was packed and I hightailed down to the piers for a one-hour cruise around Elliott Bay. The cruise was cool. It offered some great views of the Seattle skyline and nearby islands. It was still in the low-80's and beautifully sunny. Our tour guide was very impressed, by the weather. It rained twice while I was here, but I still think I will remember Seattle as a sunny place. What the hell is Eddie Vedder so pissed off about? (I realize, of course, that I got very lucky with the weather this week.)



After the cruise, I hit my last tourist stop of the day. The Bill Seidel Underground tour. It is a look at the areas below the current streets of Pioneer square. It was cool, but ran a little long. I think mostly I was just tired from a long day. But I am glad I did it.



I ended my day at a craft brewer about six blocks away from Airbnb. This guy is practically running this place out of a converted house, but he makes great beer. I am thankful for the independent spirit of the movement and for a frosty pint at the end of a long day and a great stay in the Emerald City.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Smith BuildingSmith Building
Smith Building

Oldest Skyscraper in Seattle. A former Microsoft executive lives at the top.


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb