First Full day in Vancouver


Advertisement
Published: August 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Okay. This was another super busy day, but I think I can get it all in two posts. Also, I got super cranky at about 1 PM and had to put myself down for a nap. I am glad I did because I had an awesome late afternoon and evening.



I was up at 5 AM and running by 6. Honoring my commitment to log in a run in each city I did about 4 KM (Hey, it's Canada and it's Metric!) along the seawall and into Stanley Park. Vancouver had a half-marathon today, which was sold out so I could not join. ;-) Anyway, they had the KM signs up so I was able to track my run even without cell service and my runkeeper ap. The run was beautiful. I stopped halfway and tried to take a panoramic, hopefully it shows up with this post. For those scoring at home, 4 KM is about 2.5 miles.



On my run, I got my taste buds going for Stanley Park. This is likely when I overestimated my energy level. I showered and took off back into the beautiful forest covered park. I walked around the park for about two hours and found a lighthouse, some totem poles and a lovely statue sitting out on a rock in the surf. I then decide to take a tour of the Vancouver Aquarium. It was a cool space if not a bit too small. I saw a lot of fish and other animals, but I realized I had not had anything to eat and had probably already traveled around ten miles. No bother. There was a restaurant close, somewhere in the woods. There were signs everywhere, "Local Craft Beer and Fish and Chips," I just couldn't find it! Finally, after an hour, I found it and it was closed for a wedding. At this point, I was very hungry and frustrated by the signs. Let me be clear. These were placards and not permanent advertising. Someone put these out TODAY trying to lure customers to a closed facility. I stood there watching the place, knowing it was filled with craft beer and fish and chips. Damn it, Canada! Time for a nap.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



17th August 2015

Food
You never mentioned if you got to eat. I like the totem poles.

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb