Random Acts Of kindness


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver » Kitsilano
October 5th 2011
Published: October 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Some Random Acts Of Kindness That I Experienced (in chronological order)

Some people just simply showed kindness, some saved me a few dollars, some saved me a little grief and some saved me a lot of grief and some a little of all of the above. Either way in recognition they deserve a page on my blog.

Hitch Hiking – All the people that drove me a little further then their stop

Tobermory – The cyclists that approached me and showed me a camping spot; saving me a long night at a picnic table

Northern Ontario – The native that gave me shelter in his trailer so I could get out of the rain

Sault Ste. Marie – The older couple that gave me a lift back to the Grey Hound Bus stop

Grande Prairie – My uncle putting me up for the night in a hotel and setting me up with his driver Bruce and his wife Rennee who were very nice to me for the 2 nights I stayed with them. A special thank you!

The guys at the bike shop that were real nice and helpful

Twin Lakes Campground (N. Alberta) – The guy that gave me my camp site for free

Twin Falls Campground NWT – The man running the camp gave me last years discounted price and opened the showers for me after hours

Ft. Providence NWT – The 2 older gentleman that stopped on the road to offer me water and then later in the evening shared their campsite so I would not have to pay for a site.

Yellowknife NWT – The lady at the Information Center lent me a hammer for the night to help properly set up my tent on a wooden platform

An older gentleman offered me his garage and tools to fix a very very bad jam in my bike chain and then gave me a NWT license plate for my buddy Steven

The Dutch writer that gave me a beer and a slice pizza and company in Yellowknife

Liard Trail NWT – All the people who stopped to talk or slowed down on that highway (to keep the dust down). One guy gave me a cold can of pop, 2 waters, 2 bags of chips and a chocolate bar and another guy had a can of pop ready and waiting for me before I even reached his truck. The lady that helped me pass the herd of bison

Liard Trail BC – The lady that ran the work camp I stayed at letting me take extra food and to the guy working at the camp that snuck me in for a shower

Toad River BC– The lady that gave me extra food because I was low on supplies

Hot Springs Park BC – The bikers that gave me a beer and some moose meat sausage

Lava Park BC – The guy that gave me directions to a camping spot and then returned 10 minutes later to let me know that the spot was further then he thought. And then the young couple that rode their car alongside me until I reached the camping spot and even started a camp fire for me

Queen Charlotte Islands

North Beach at Tow Hill – The young hippie guy that invited me to his camp that had lots of shelter from the rain

Masset – The couple that gave me $20 for dinner

Port Clement –Everyone who helped figure out the driest place for me to spend the night, taking me to where the spot was and buying me a few beers that night

Queen Charlotte City –The lady that gave me a private room for the price of her hostel

The hundreds (and I mean hundreds) of people that waved from their vehicles and all the people that came up to talk. I can honestly say that riding the 1000’s and 1000’s of kilometers solo I was never alone or lonely for any part of the trip. Mind you it would not be in my nature to lonely if I had never seen a single soul in these last 3 months anyways.

Vancouver – To the Dynes family for taking me in for the weekend when I was on the main land in Vancouver City; and then taking me in when I finished my ride. A very special thank you!

To my uncle and his friend for the beers on my finishing day

If there is one thing that I take from this whole riding experience is to be nice and helpful to strangers because they may one day be helpful to your kids, nieces or nephews someday when they decide to go out on some crazy adventure.


Advertisement



5th October 2011

Truly inspirational
I only became aware of your blog afte r you had left NW Ontario and I have enjoyed the updates and pictures from your perspective and through your eyes, your Random Acts of Kindness has brought tears to my eyes, it's truly wonderful to see that there are still caring and giving people in this wonderful country that I live in.. I hope that you will have many more wonderful adventures to share..safe travels

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb