Quick summary of last few days


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Just gonna try and do an update of the last few days because didn't have access to internet (grrr)..

Anyway, second day on the Rocky Mountaineer was also good...lots of changing scenery- some of it surprisingly seemed really dry with salt bush and dry earth despite snow and massive running river. Some of it reminded me of the Flinders Ranges a little - I'll try and post a pic to show what I mean. So, we went from snow capped mountains, to more barren terrain onto lush, green hlls and back to snow capped mountains towards Vancouver. Beautiful rivers, bridges, tunnels...just fantastic.

The train was really comfortable and luxurious....food was special. Met some nice people and got some hugs and exchanged emails. Was told by Boston couple that they ...and I quote...'are in awe of me'...(ok, kids...stop smirking) and that 'I am strong and should feel empowered'. Must'a said some crap that impressed them hey?

So, Vancouver....very pretty city and don't think I did it justice. (Think I have a touch of sinusitis so bit tired). Bought a hop on/off ticket and made my way to Stanley Park which was lovely (met some fellow Mountaineer passengers there). Got seriously lost and a bit panicky about finding bus stop (turns out sign was missing so I wasn't so incompetent). Oh, saw a racoon...bigger than I thought and he/she seemed to enjoy raiding the rubbish bins...lol.

Second day, went for a lazy walk to the waterfront...seriously lovely. Saw seaplanes taking off and landing, two huge passenger liners (probably taking Aussies I met on the Tour to Alaska) and had lunch on the waterfront...lovely. Vancouver has this beautiful waterfront and is surrounded by snow capped mountains. (Only bit of sour note was the hotel....Blue Horizon).

Today...is the start of my journey home. As I write this I am sitting in San Francisco airport for several hours waiting for my flight to Sydney.

Am so looking forward to getting home and being able to give my family a great big hug...but sheesh, what a trip! I have enjoyed myself more than I thought and have learned that solo travel is not only do-able but is fun. Would I do it again...you bet (but might have to win Xlotto first...Em...did you buy those tickets yet??...lol).

So, maybe I should write down what I have got out of and learned from this trip...or maybe not....lol. Its enough to just enjoy it...isn't it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb