Magic Moments


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
May 16th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok...bit of a momentous day for me today....the start of the Rocky Mountaineer trip.

Bit of history...the idea for this train trip started to develop when I was in hospital about 18 months ago facing some surgery. Anyway, the women in the bed across the room befriended me and began telling me about her experience on the Rocky Mountaineer. I promised myself that when/if I came through unscathed I would set a goal to go on this train trip....and here I am today. Phew...bit emotional writing this. Life is good, I feel lucky and if I was religious would even say blessed. So, just 'being' here is fantastic and 'a moment'....but what was it like? The experience is wonderful (especially as was upgraded at no cost to gold ticket so had the large domed windows etc) people are friendly (but again have a seat to myself so plenty of room to spread out), good food, and scenery is just beautiful....mountains, snow, rivers, lakes etc. We are now in British Columbia and so are out of the Rockies but still is lovely.

Oh, and guess what!! Saw...wait for it...4 grizzly bears today. Yep...what a treat! Very hard to get photos but managed to get one (although not that clear...might have to play with it to improve but will add to the blog). Gorgeous...saw a mother and cub together...running from the train. Logically, realised there were bears living in the wild but wow...seeing them is something special and unexpected (although secretly was hopeful...lol)

Anyway, is all the more special as the train is bringing me to the West and is the start of my trip home.

So, another day on the train tomorrow.

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Grizzly BearGrizzly Bear
Grizzly Bear

(British Columbia - out of the Rockies)


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb