Beyond the (Pacific) Rim...


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Since I last blogged (is that an acceptable verb?), I've been across the Island to the Pacific Rim National Park and back.

I left Nanaimo on Friday and headed west towards Port Alberni. Quick stops on the way at Little Qualicum Falls (great place) and Cathedral Grove (lots of big trees - it was about as exciting as it sounds). Very twisty roads, but I'm getting used to the driving the van now.

Port Alberni itself is technically a sea port, but is about 30 miles inland. It sits at the head of a long narrow inlet. Quite a nice, if somewhat functional, little town: and yet another one with a great big industrial plant in the middle of it. The snow-capped mountains surrounding the town made up for its shortcomings - as did the fantastic weather.

Saturday, I headed west again, and into the Pacific Rim National Park. Now, the park is definitely one of my top-ten favourite National Parks in Canada. But to be fair, I have only been to six others. It was good, but not quite as spectacular as I was expecting/hoping for.

I spent Saturday at the south-end of the park. I wandered along the Nuu-Chah-Nulth trail. Weather was reasonable, but not fantatsic, and that, coupled with the fact that it is still very early in the holiday season over here, meant that there were very few other people in the park.

While driving to my overnight stop-over in the town of Ucluelet (small, artsy) I saw a group of three black bears by the side of the road. (No photos as I was driving). And later in the evening as I was having my tea, sat in the van over looking over the harbour, a couple of young elk casually sauntered past.

Sunday I drove to the northern end of the Pacific Rim. Lots of stops to walk on the beach, through the rain forest, take photos, etc. Did originally plan to overnight in Torfino (surf-tastic, tourist mecca) but all the RV sites were quite pricey, so I went back to the only campsite in the park itself (Green Point).

Yesterday I drove out of the park, and back towards Port Alberni. I stopped off briefly at Kennedy Lake (which - according to the signs at the lake, if not my map! - is the largest lake on
Pacific Rim NPPacific Rim NPPacific Rim NP

Schooner's Cove
Vancouver Island). The lake is fed by the Kennedy River, which runs through a stunning canyon right next to the road, but frustratingly there are no places to stop to take photos.

I made a bit of a detour to Stamp River to see the falls (and have a spot of lunch), before finding a place to park the van at Sproat Lake.

And finally (stop cheering at the back!), today I made it back to the east coast. Quick visits to Englishman River Falls and Rathtrevor Beach (where the sea goes out over a kilometre at low-tide), and now in Parksville enjoying the first campsite for three days with electricity and wifi! I never thought that I would consider these as luxuries. Spending tonight here before heading north again tomorrow. Planning a couple of days in Comox & Courtney before heading into the Strathcona Regional Park for the weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb