Missed Atlin!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Stewart
August 9th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well i tried to go to Atlin but the road had just been gravelled and i was on road tires. It was like riding on Marbles so instead of risking a crash I chose to turn around and head back to Watson Lake instead. I'm a bit disappointed that I didn't get to see Atlin but there's always another time right?
Watson Lake was interesting because although the forest fire was still burning they were "Piloting" us through it using a pick up truck as the pilot car for 75 kms. The area was devastated but sadly no photos as we were told there was no stopping. I'm now in Stewart BC again ....and damp...but moving on to Smithers this afternoon with a new goup of friends i met on the road at Dease Lake. Actually it waqs Dominic that I first met in Anchorage a week ago who i'm travelling with. He's on his way to Panama on a GS1200 he bought from Alaska Rider. There's a Horizons meeting in Nakusp that I'm interested in going to this thursday so maybe....? Not sure yet.
I'm onh a very slow internet connection here in Stewart but hopefully the bear photos upload for you.
More from Smithers tonight.

Regards to you all.....Nevil


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



9th August 2010

boo!
Hey.....sounds like your having a great time Nev.....hope you make it down to Panama next trip.....much more interesting and exciting in my biased opinion. Good to see you using eh? in your last commentary.....spoken like a true canuck mate.
11th August 2010

Missed Atlin
It's really to bad you missed Atlin, it's one of the most beautiful places in Canada. The nickname for Atlin is Little Switzerland of the North and it really is. I lived there for a lot of summers and a couple winters. I owned the first Video store there.My parents were gold miners there, many go there to mine for the summers. You'll have to get there if you have a next time for sure!
11th August 2010

Hi Tracy, I'm truly dissapointed that I missed Atlin. It's a place I've been wanting to see for a few years now. There will be a day when i get there in the not too distant future for sure! Glad to "know" someone from Atlin for sure. Please keep reading the blog! Kindest regards Nevil

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb