Days 1 & 2 ......getting used to travelling again!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Smithers
July 18th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello folks,

Many apologies for the lack of blog yesterday, but I was out of cell reception in Jasper. We had a trouble free ride from Canmore to Jasper (Wabasso campground), where it promptly rained on us as we were attempting to put our tents up.

A quick jaunt into Jasper for supper, saw the weather improve, and we came back to evening sunshine at the campground.

A quick introduction to everybody on the trip:
Adam… riding a KLR 650 of near antique qualities, has surprised me with how well his motorcycle has performed.
Andréa and Penny… our new found friends on this trip, riding a Yamaha FJR 1300, strictly a road bike and therefore will probably not join us on some of the gravel roads.

We awoke on Saturday morning to temperatures of zero degrees (see frosty photograph). And promptly froze our buns off (I discovered at Mt. Robson that I’d just ridden the last 100km with my fly open in 6 degree weather!

From Jasper area we rode the 747 km to Smithers in British Columbia and the weather was wonderful all the way. Tonight it is a little windy at the campground and we intent to press on tomorrow toward Stewart in British Columbia, and possibly even just south of Dease Lake. This means we will be out of cell range and no blogging for Nevil for the next two day… so I better make this one a good one.

The only mishaps are a small lock on Andréa’s bike needed fixing, and a stop off at Prince George for a new tire for his bike.

I must apologize if some of you have been trying to track us because the first half of the day my GPS would not lock on to any satellites. I think it’s rectified now, but I am getting reports that the signals are sporadic in this area - so please keep trying to track us. I will keep the GPS fully charged and on at all times.

Remember, if you haven’t done so already, please go to www.springcreekmv.com to donate, or go bug a friend or neighbour and make them donate as well.

That’s about it for now folks. I hope the photos uploaded okay. I’ll catch you in two days or so.

Regards to all,
Nevil



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb