it's been seven weeks already!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Kelowna
September 19th 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

back to schoolback to schoolback to school

eating linday's yummy cupcakes back at school. Jenica, Melissa, Lindsay, Hailey, Laura!
Almost seven weeks have zoomed by since Lindsay and I have been back in Canada. It would be a great understatement to say that we have been busy these past weeks. Indeed, I have traveled to both coasts of Canada and even wandered down to the USA my first days back in North America. Lindsay and I have been meaning to write a blog about what the heck we’ve been up to and perhaps even share a few more stories from our last weeks in Argentina, but the truth is, we see our biggest blog fans (our parents and dear friends Hailey and Mike) just about everyday, so why bother? However, I have quite a few pictures from my trip to Ottawa and Toronto, from the Latina Fiesta and some of our first days at school that I wanted to post. So here they are, and hopefully we’ll put some up from Lindsay’s trip to the Nakusp Hotsprings and from my recent adventure with the Mojomayans around BC.

Muchos besos,
And to our friends and family that are far away: Los Queremos Mucho!

Jenica



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

in the bibliotecain the biblioteca
in the biblioteca

lindsay already hitting the library during the first week back!
smokey sunsetsmokey sunset
smokey sunset

due to forest fires we had some great sunsets our first weeks back!
ubcoubco
ubco

lots of action up at the campus during the first weeks.
steak for breakfast?steak for breakfast?
steak for breakfast?

only in the United states.
Bacci?Bacci?
Bacci?

Our tent neighbour at the Gorge, Toby. He was always into playing Bacci and hung out with us the whole evening.
To USATo USA
To USA

heading to the states to see Dave Matthews live at the Gorge! YIIPEEE
Larry and JenicaLarry and Jenica
Larry and Jenica

Our great friend Larry, who just turned 97 years young at the beginning of October. Que gran amigo!
#34 and Jenica reunited#34 and Jenica reunited
#34 and Jenica reunited

my absolutely favorite thai dish at my favorite restaurant in Kelowna, Bai Tong. Muslim curry, veggies, tofu and peanuts! YUMMM! I missed it while I was in Argentina!!!
Grandma and JenicaGrandma and Jenica
Grandma and Jenica

MI ABUELA! My grandma, Peggy (91years old) came to Kelowna for a visit in the fall. She is so sweet!
Welcome Home party!Welcome Home party!
Welcome Home party!

Lindsay looking lovely back home in Canada with friends. (left to right) Katy, Steven, Sara, Lindsay, Brittny
War MuseumWar Museum
War Museum

Sarah, Jenica and Andy at the Ottawa War Museum. A little visit, dinner and dance party at the museum while I was in Ottawa for the conference.
OttawaOttawa
Ottawa

our nation's capital on a cloudy day
sisters!sisters!
sisters!

karina and I in High Park in Toronto, end of september
Matt and ChristineMatt and Christine
Matt and Christine

taking a walk down the lovely tree lined streets of toronto.
Latina FiestaLatina Fiesta
Latina Fiesta

las mamacitas at the Latina Fiesta!
Latina FiestaLatina Fiesta
Latina Fiesta

and of course, los papacitos at the Latina Fiesta!
chocolates anyone?chocolates anyone?
chocolates anyone?

Ivan and Lindsay sneeking chocolates before dinner.
DMBDMB
DMB

Our view of Dave Matthews Band rocking out at the Gorge. it was marvelous.
Clothing ExchangeClothing Exchange
Clothing Exchange

With the lovely ladies from our student union's women's resource centre we had a tea party and clothing exchange. it was a blast


23rd October 2006

Amor del otro lado del pais
I can't believe so much time has passed since our amazing adventure! I'm glad to know you're happy settling in back in K-town, and am imagining myself sandwiched in the middle of your Latino Fiesta and clothing exchange pictures. I miss you both very much, but I know that looking at the pictures from our incredible summer together will get me through even the coldest days this Montreal-winter. Las adoro tanto!
23rd October 2006

Thanks!
It's been wonderful to ride along on the trip with you. Thanks for taking the time to share it all. Dana has applied for the short term Rotary exchange next summer and has been told she's pretty much sure to go. Her choices are Ecuador, Spain and Mexico, so we hope one of those will be available. I'm sure you've been a huge influence on her making the decision to take this adventure. Take care, lots of love, Glenda
30th October 2006

Good Old UBCO!
Hey Girls! I was wondering about you and thought I should google your page. I am so happy to find such great photos to catch me up on all the events in K-town! Things are coming along in Mexico here. My favorite past time has been sitting in the Zocalo and chatting to anyone who will put up with my shitty Spanish hahah. Good to hear from you girls. Take care. Heather

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb