My Last Days at Hell's Gate Airtram


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Hope
October 15th 2010
Published: October 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe my time at Hell's Gate is coming to an end, only a few more days till I leave. This summer has gone so fast. I've met so many nice people from different parts of the world here, and I've had a blast, I hope my winter turns out to be the same.

I attended my first ice hockey game the other night in Chilliwack. Gina and Ron bought us tickets and drive us in with them. Our seats were directly behind the box where all the players sit when their not playing, they were awesom seats. Chilliwack Bruins were playing a team from Washington state. There was so much excitment in the arena, Heidi and I made it onto the big screen twice, once dancing to the chicken dance and the other trying to make as much moise as we could, Elbie made on once when we were making noise. It was an awesome fight and the game was pretty good too. We won the fight and the game, woohoo. There were few good falls aswell, the best one was one of the guys sliding into the wall face first and ended up with a bleeding nose lol. Gina bought us a pin and a whistle, the whistle I'm sure she was regreting as Heidi and I were constantly blowing them lol. The score was 2-1, we scored the last goal in about the last 5 mins. The ride home was pretty quiet, but when we got out, we started blowing the whistles again, we wanted to show Kathy and Ken that we all had a good time. We didn't find out til a couple of days later that they didn't hear a thing as they were both dead to the world.

Jenn arrived back here for the last few days to help out Kathy. We had a fire to wecome her back and a couple of drinks. Kathy and Ken joined us for a bit, so everyone was able to catch up with her. I had the day off the next day while everyone else went to work, haha. That night the girls bought home pumpkins from our display at work. We each carved one, my first ever pumpkin carving and probably my last lol. We had alot of fun though, pulling out all the seeds and guts from inside, then designing the face we wanted on them, then of course the actual carving. We all ended up with very different face which was good. Elbie then cooked us dinner on the fire, African style, it was pretty good. I then made some dessert, chocolate pudding, delicious. We then had a relaxing night in front of the tv, watching a movie, Killers. It was a pretty good movie, we had a few laughs.

Well, time at Hell's Gate has come to an end. To celebrate our last days, we spent three out of five nights at the point in front of the fire drinking, one of the nights, we went into Hope to get more food for the cafe as they almost ran out of stuff and the other night, we climbed to the top of tunnell for some photo's then Heidi and I packed all our stuff up while Jenn, Elbie, Kathy and Ken watched a horror movie. Thanksgiving weekend was really busy at work and we weren't even expecting it. The Saturday, we had four buses scheduled and we ended up have seven plus some pretty big family groups. Sunday started looking the same with one bus scheduled and three coming plus other groups. Monday/Thanksgiving Day/Pumpkin Drop. We ended the year with just under 1000 people coming to Hell's Gate. I'd say three quarters had pumpkins to throw out the windows of the tram. I can't believe how creative people get. Some people spent up to four hours on their pumpkins just to smash it on the rock, crazy stuff. I dressed up as the devil of Hell's Gate while Diane dressed up as a Nun lol. The biggest pumpkin we had come through was 80 pounds, it was so big that Brian had to go down on the tram just to get it out the window. That was recorded on video and will appear on travelthecanyon.com. After work, most of the staff stayed for a Thanksgiving dinner of Turkey, homemade cranberry sauce, vege's and then for dessert, pumpkin pie and cheesecake. I was a little nervous about trying pumpkin pie but I quite enjoyed it and ended up going for a second piece lol. We stayed on for about an hour and a half before saying all our goodbyes and going home. I hate goodbyes, I ended up crying for about twenty minutes. When we got back, we headed out to the point for the last time and had our last fire.

The next day, I had to get up and do my washing before I could pack, it took most of the morning before we walked into work for the last time. Kathy was putting on a lunch for everyone to get rid of any food that was left over. So we wondered in, I knew I'd regret it though as I'd be saying goodbyes all over again, which meant crying all over again, wasn't good. Brian was mean't to be taking us into town to catch the bus to Vancouver, so Ken brought us back to res to get out stuff and Brian would pick us up. Ken was going into tow too though, so he called Brian and told him that he'd take us instead. I hadn't even said goodbye to Brian, I was a bit upset about that.

Well, sadly that brings life at Hell's Gate to an end. Keep watching my blog though as I'm about to leave on a road trip across Canada, so who knows what kind of things will happen lol.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb