Vancouver to Panama and back


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Abbotsford
August 31st 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Heading out of Kingcome in an Beech 18 40 secs
KLR - BlaneKLR - BlaneKLR - Blane

Nothing to do with the trip, taken at the head of Kingcome Inlet
My Dad (Ray), Brother (Brad) and I are heading to Central America on KLR 650 motorcycles. We will leave from Abbotsford.

This will be a 15,000 km trip full of adventure, long days and new places. There is no schedule, just a route and about 40 +days to play with.

We will travel through the following countries: USA, Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicurauga, Costa Rica and Panama and back again in roughly that order.

Brad heads down from Grande Prairie Alberta on his new KLR 650 (with new Teton Canyon Cut Panniers) and a fist full of oil money to Uncle Larry's and Aunty Pat's, the staging ground for the trip.

My Dad will come over from Campbell River on his KLR 650 and has been busy working in on the up and down the Coast.

Myself, just finishing a contract with the military, lots of travel, and a slow and steady progress on the old KLR that recently took me to Toronto, Ottawa, Detroit then back across the states to Vancouver. And when I return, head back out of the country again.


Hope you enjoy the site and will update when we can.

Please Subscribe (meaning an automatic update notification) or leave comments as we'll appreciate them alot along the trip!

Thanks,

The Reynolds




.


Advertisement



1st September 2008

No Problem
We were glad to have you.
3rd September 2008

Congrats on the upcoming trip!
Blaine, Congrats on the trip. Sounds like you will have much adventure in the coming weeks. I wish you God Speed and have fun. Keep safe, guess it cant be any more dangerous than Kandahar eh? ha ha!
3rd September 2008

Another adventure for the reynolds boys
You 3 sure are into exploring this beautiful world we live in. What an experience you shall all remember for a lifetime. Can't wait to hear how things go along the trip and to hear it in person when you make it home safe. Have a safe trip!!Daelin will be checking this site out daily.haha xox
3rd September 2008

Lucky Slugger
Well Reynolds I am jealous with envy, if only I did not just come back from a tour myself I would be stationed in a side car riding alongside your KLR as the trip translator. Once again I am bedazzled by your boldness, this trip is certainly one helluva undertaking! Having travelled down there myself I can offer you one tip, you better learn to tell quickly which cops you can pay off and which ones you can't because I am sure you are going to have to pay a few bribes given your nature for living on the EDGE. Keep us updated!
3rd September 2008

Safe Trip!
Hey Blane, Brad and Ray, Have a safe journey and I also will live vicariously through you for the next 6 weeks. I am sure it will provide me with many humourous and interesting moments to break up my life driving this desk!
5th September 2008

Cousin
Great site! I am really looking forward to being able to read the updates and track you 3 through the areas we traveled and where we would like to get to one day. Safe trip!
6th September 2008

Thursday Night Girls
Note to Blane and Brad..... Keep an eye on your Dad for me. He owes Ross some cucumber! Let's see how well he explains his way out of this one. Have a safe trip and we'll be watching and reading regularly. I want a full report with pictures when you return.
7th September 2008

Just about ready
I am packing up "Tabby" for the trip and will head out of Campbell River for Abbotsford Sunday morning . I find that if I spend to long packing I will have the household loaded on the bike. The weather is fine and the promise of adventure is in the air. I will meet my sons in Abbotsford and we will head out from my sister Pats as that has always been a good launching point whether it be to the Arctic ,or the gulf of Mexico or points between
7th September 2008

Outlaw/Aunty
Happy belated and upcoming birthdays :) Our birthday wishes for yous all is, May the wind be on your backs...May your days be fair,(but not too fair at times as these days lead to interesting stories), May the people you meet along the way share interesting tales that you may gain knowledge of what lays ahead in your journey, and may you find safe shelter to rest your heads at night.....We look forward to following you 3 on your big adventure......I sent Scott this link so he can follow you as well, but I don't think he will be able to see you along the highways as he is doing Manitoba/Wisconsin trips.....Take Care..............
7th September 2008

Not much travel so far??
Hey the Reynolds! We've been looking at your maps - thought you'd be halfway down the coast by now! I guess you're just getting on the road today - so drive safe guys! The rest of us will stay home and take care of your work for you...... Harv
7th September 2008

Have an awesome adventure!
Blane, I hope you, your dad and brother have a great trip. What a great adventure to venture on. It will be fun checking out the map tracker... so cool, and reading your interesting blog entries about the places you travel! Have a safe, fun trip!!
7th September 2008

Safe & Happy trip
Hey! the time to leave has arrived! We are excited for you and can only visualize the many places you will see. Take lots of photos and be safe and above all have fun. This is a trip the three of you will always have fond memories of.
8th September 2008

Happy Trails to you
It's Monday - Time to launch guys, get over the boarder and your trip has begun! And happy shopping in Seattle. xo
20th September 2008

Happy 30th Brad
Good Morning guys! Happy Birthday Bradley, it was about this time 30 years ago that I was madly pounding out phone #'s trying to get a message to Ray to get to the hosp. asap (he was on his way to work at Boulder Bay). Pedal to the metal (has anything changed?).......he arrived just as you were being born! What a great way to celebrate a birthday, travelling thru Central America. Love the pictures and following spot, have it up at work and share it with staff and volunteers. Love to you all, Mom xoxo

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb