Day 2 on the Trans Canada Highway


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Calgary
June 30th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Snow at the end of June!Snow at the end of June!Snow at the end of June!

The town of Chaplin and Chalpin Lake is known for it's wildlife refuge and salt deposits. Isn't that awesome?
Good day hey,

Good evening from beautiful Calgary, Alberta, Canada. This city of over 1 million people is host to the Calgary Stampede next week (large rodeo) so I came through at just the right time. Also, Tuesday is Canada Day and a huge vacation holiday and everyone here heads to the mountains so I hope I can get a campground somewhere on my way to Jasper.

A little about today...although is was not that exciting...just driving for almost 400 miles straight west of Moose Jaw where the lay of the land is either crops (wheat) or oil wells and refineries. Road was great and the wind minimal and the temp was in the high 80s.

I slept pretty good last night considering I do not usually sleep on the ground in a tent. I did wake up to a lot of moisture and dew on everything but had to pack it all up...it all dried out in the 80 degree temp driving 110 km/h!

I was scheduled to overnight at Brooks but the bike was running great and I felt great so I pushed on to Calgary. This will give me an extra day to spend
Looks like a snowbank in NDLooks like a snowbank in NDLooks like a snowbank in ND

Chaplin Lake is in the background and through a series of mining techniques, salt is produced. It is the 2nd most saline lake in Canada
along the trail.

I have been running the Trans Canada Highway to Calgary and came across this town called Chaplin. At first it looked like snow that was piled up along the roadway but it turns out that Chaplin Lake encompasses nearly 20 square miles and is the second largest saline water body in Canada. The main business of Chaplin also uses the sodium sulphate deposits for salt.

Then I met this cute French couple. I passed them and stopped for gas and they pulled in behind me and admired my 2005 Goldwing. They also had a very sharp Goldwing as well. Anyway, it turns out they are from 2 hours north of Paris. They had their Goldwing shipped to Montreal and will be touring Canada and the US for the next three months. We exchanged emails and they are going to send me a French flag. JoLynn, anytime we want to go to Paris, they said they will show us around. Their names are Didier and Caroline Mesure. We chatted for about fifteen minutes and took pictures and I was on my way.

Tonight I pitched my tent in about 30 minutes...do they have an Olympic
French couple touring Canada and USFrench couple touring Canada and USFrench couple touring Canada and US

Then I met this cute French couple. I passed them and stopped for gas and they pulled in behind me and admired my 2005 Goldwing. They also had a very sharp Goldwing as well. Anyway, it turns out they are from 2 hours north of Paris. They had their Goldwing shipped to Montreal and will be touring Canada and the US for the next three months. We exchanged emails and they are going to send me a French flag. JoLynn, anytime we want to go to Paris, they said they will show us around. Their names are Didier and Caroline Mesure. We chatted for about fifteen minutes and took pictures and I was on my way.
sport for this event? I was even invited over to my neighbors tent and treated me to pork chops and potatoes...a husband and wife who live in Edmonton. They were very gracious and are very representative of the great folks I have met in the last two days.

For those coming this way, the Trans Canada highway is not an interstate as we know it, but a four lane divided highway.

Skeeters are bad here as well.

I am simply in awe of God's wonderful creation. Tomorrow the Canadian Rocky Mountains will take up the rest of my journey to Alaska.

Thanks for reading.

Rob



Advertisement



30th June 2008

Good morning from your wife
So glad to hear you are eating good !! Paris does does sound exciting with that couple as personal tour guides.
30th June 2008

Community.
After reading the first two entries after departure, I am pretty sure that reading these are going to be on of the highlights of my day. To be honest, there is a subtle jealously that has overtaken me now that you are on your way. The experiences, scenery, and people that you will meet along the way will provide you with a lifetime of reflection and memories. Grace to you and peace. Ty.
30th June 2008

Looks like fun!!
Hey Rob, I can tell I'm really going to enjoy your blog. Keep the details and photos coming....I hope I'm able to take a trip like this someday. Take care and continue to ride safe!!
30th June 2008

Everyday on the road is an adventure, new people, new sights, new stories. The best part of the trip is not getting to the final destination, but the juourney in between the start and finish. Thanks for sharing!!
30th June 2008

Pork Chops and Potatoes!!!!
When I was with you we at MRE's beside a campfire. What gives?!
1st July 2008

Going to Alaska
We are flying to Anchorage on the 1st of July and fromthere going to Deneli and on up to Fairbanks, Maybe we will run into each other.Have a safe ride . I live next door to the yellow trike and ride a wing.
1st July 2008

Diggin the doo
Rob, I'm diggin' the shaved head! Hope all is well and I look forward to checking in on you daily. Darin

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb