Arrival in Banff


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am sooo tired. Up at 1.45am after about 5 hours sleep and been travelling all day. OK....whinge over...lol (just wanted to explain away potential spelling & grammer mistakes in this blog...although probably no more than other blogs I've done..lol).

First thing, I lied...whinge isn't over yet. Shuttle bus was booked to pick me up at 3.00am but was told had to be ready 10 minutes early. So, I was. Driver didn't arrive - rang 3 times! In the end he was 40 minutes late...and wasn't as if he had already picked up other passengers that delayed him. Still had plenty of time but he didn't acknowledge my presence or that he was late. He also drove like a 'pillock'...so, didn't tip him...hah, I showed him! (Ok, now whinge is over).

Flight was good - 5.5 hours. Lucky again - announcement on the PA system stated that flight was full and cabin bags will be measured. Hah - had no-one sitting next to me again...whoohooo. Had a window seat and as flew into Calgary - the city reminded me of Adelaide...you know, the small square of CBD buildings, some plains and then hills surrounding it all. BUT THEN...OMG....snow capped mountains in the background. Nearly cried (actually, nearly cried a few times today...might be due to tiredness perhaps).

Anyway, got through customs no problems and picked up the Banff Airporter. Didn't get to see Calgary at all as bypassed it but sheesh...the trip to Banff was exciting. I couldn't understand why no-one on the bus was oohing or aahing...this was another moment when I could have cried. I was wondering how I would describe what I was seeing to the kids and family and there's just no words....just wish you were all here with me to see it...you'd love it!! I think you'd be hard pressed to find a more beautiful place. Ok, gush over. I tried to take some pics from the bus just because I couldn't believe it. Will post some.

Arrived in Banff 2 hours later. Hotel is fine and decided to go for a walk 'downtown'. The town caters for tourists (accommodation, restaurants and souvenier outlets mostly) but the main street is quaint. The town, however, is surrounded by snow capped mountains...close and all around. Truly stunning.

I have 5 nights here...whoohoo but am excited about the Rocky Mountaineer train trip now...this has
Township of BanffTownship of BanffTownship of Banff

Background of mountains
certainly whet my appetite. Tomorrow, plan to walk around Banff (self directed walk & go to visitor centre) but might book a Glacier Ice walk and a visit to Lake Louise.


Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.2kb