Life in General


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Sharjah
December 2nd 2006
Published: December 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

When I accepted this job I took note of the fact that it is currently winter here at the moment and temperatures usually reach into the mid 20's. Talking to a few of the locals, it has rained here 4 times in the last 2 years. I've been here about 7 days now and believe it or not it has rained for three of those days! The funny thing is, is that because it just doesn't rain here the city engineers didn't construct any form of drainage so lakes have been formed on roads that come up above the bottom of doors.

Bailey and myself took off to the sevens yesterday to try in get in to a sold out tournament. We didn't manage to but some how we ended up having these two girls looking for tickets for us. That was a novelty. So, instead we went to the Extreme games just down the road. You can't really do that in many cities. That was a big highlight and then we went out into town afterwards and caught up with all the ex pats (mainly drunken poms). Its got quite expensive after a while when you're buying NZ$50 rounds.

I am still currently trying to get used to the culture over here. I've have been doing a little running which consists of everyone, I actually mean everyone, stopping and staring. Just not used to it I guess.

Tomorrow morning Bailey and myself are heading off to Abu Dhabi for the offshore survival training. It goes for three days then we are likely to be sent to either Turkey or Iran for a job. Straight into it which is good. Will keep everyone posted.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb