First Impressions


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Sharjah
November 29th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I flew into Dubai 3 days ago with Bailey on an Emirates flight which I must say was impressive. After the 17hrs on the plane, we arrived at 0530 with the plan to go straight to work to start a course we were already late for as I HAD to stay in NZ on the Friday night for an incredible performance from U2 in Auckland. Thankyou U2!

Anyway, Sharjah was the new base and first impressions were mixed. The luxury most certainly exists but so does the poverty. Whether or not the locals think it is poverty or not I don't know, but there are places here that rival that of South Auckland.

Work has been good at Horizon Survey with a training course on some software. I must say I have learnt more here in 3 days than I did this year at University 😊 Plans are under way to do offshore survival training which include oil rig fire fighting, escaping out of a helicopter underwater and a few other things etc etc. It looks as though I'll be heading offshore on a job or two in the coming weeks with more information to come. I'll let everyone know!

A big exploration of the area that includes Dubai's pubs will be the plan this weekend as well as the Dubai sevens which are on as well. With the next entry will put some photos up of the place for all to see. Hope all is well back home. Until next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.948s; Tpl: 0.355s; cc: 8; qc: 29; dbt: 0.3677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb