meanwhile, back at the saloon...


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

what has happened since my last blog?
well I went to the Christmas party, was not underdressed, had loads of fun

went and got henna done on my hands and then tried to do my own feet to not much success and it's gonna last a while, ugh. Getting the henna done was cool though, we went to a ladie's saloon (yes, I do realise there is an extra 'o' there but I don't think they realise that and besides, if everyone makes the same spelling error there is a language agreement there and it means that it's the right spelling, at least for here-I *heart* linguistics nerds that taught me that) I wanted to post pics but my cord is at Anna's pad so you'll all have to wait for the amazingness that is the photos I have taken this week.

we went to Sharjah to visit the blue souk there, it's a big market/shopping mall where you get to barter with expert barterers. it was fun. i bought a carpet with tanks and guns on it, which Anna has offered to bring for me when she comes back to Canada to visit family in the summer. I'll
bohemian rhapsody at the nakheelbohemian rhapsody at the nakheelbohemian rhapsody at the nakheel

Michelle, Joele, James and Anna
have to live without it for a while but I've photo-documented it lovingly so I can almost revel in its awesomeness until it reaches me. I can also show everyone pictures of it before you see the real thing.

James and I took a taxi out to a place called Jazeera al Hamra, which is a deserted town 20 mins outside of RAK and it was really cool to see abandoned houses and mosques. I climbed in 2 of the minarets even though technically you're not really supposed to but there's nobody there to tell you not to and I like to think that if Allah didn't want me to do it I would have tumbled to my death on the rusted out staircase and cracked platform.

the next day James' mom Fran took me to see some archaeological sites that just sit unloved at the side of the road. part of the reason, she told me, that they aren't given a lot of thought is that they're pre-Islam so nobody really wants to think about that. I wish I could remember all of the things she told me but there was a lot to absorb and I didn't have my clipboard and 3 hole punched lined paper to take notes on.

Anna is now off work for the next 17 days so she'll have time to spend with me going to the wadis, Oman, desert safari, global village and all sorts of other adventures, the sky is the limit!

imagine someone asking the question "so what's the difference between bridge and backgammon?" (though she claims to love chess) and you would encapsulate my night last night. Later when we were laughing about it some more I said "that's like comparing apples and some fruit nobody's ever heard of" (yeah Arrested Develpment!) and Anna said "actually, that's like comparing apples and a goat in the back of a pickup truck"
stupid people make my life complete


after that loving anecdote I want to end by, once again, quoting my dad (I hope he doesn't mind!):
"The last few days Sheila Rogers has been playing peoples’ requests for favourite christmas songs. Yesterday a few people wrote in asking for Stan Rogers’ First Christmas Away from Home, so they played it. I thought of you as I worked at my bench and got one of those
Sharjah Blue SoukSharjah Blue SoukSharjah Blue Souk

Ali the carpet guy shows off my amazing carpet
weird emotional moments that’s hard to describe. Sad isn’t quite right, because it’s not exactly about happiness. More like hoping your spirits are good through the holidays and hoping you’re not lonely. We will think of you and miss you."
Thanks Karl, you put it really well because I'm having a similar feeling about all my friends and family at home. I'm not sad that I'm not there (not happy either), but I do miss you all hope you are all well and in good spirits and loving each other.
happy non-denominational holiday season everyone!
love Alexis


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Jazeerah al HamraJazeerah al Hamra
Jazeerah al Hamra

the smurf minaret!


22nd December 2006

it's cold. it's not sunny here. i miss you. i love you.
22nd December 2006

missssssss you
Have a merry christmas, my love! I hope it's great, and that you celebrate fully. It's okay to be happy away from home. It doesn't mean you miss people any less. It sucks that I get msn messages from you and you are gone by the time I get them. makes me sad :( ps. that Arrested quote was awesome! Good job.
23rd December 2006

screw the non-denomination holiday season pc crap
"Non-denominational holiday season???" Merry friggin' Christmas! And I say it again, Merry Christmas! L, S xoxo

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb