Skiing in the Desert (oh and more building madness!)


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
September 20th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Skiing - its almost realSkiing - its almost realSkiing - its almost real

I love this view. Art first glance all seems well - theres snow, skiis and a handsome skiier (papa robinson). However, on closer inspection.... is that an advertisement written in the sky? What's that great big fan box in the top right...? Hmmm......
Hello joyful readers,

Once again I report to you from the desert, but this time, a desert in disguise! In disguise you ask..? That's right, because this desert has snow in it! Oh yeah.

SKIING!


Not only have they built the world's largest indoor snow park, but they've done it brilliantly - there is no hassle involved at all, its just as easy as going ice-skating or rollerblading! You turn up, pay, get given a locker key and skis/boots/clothing. Take an escalator and BAM - your skiing!

I dont really think I need to do much writing on this topic, the pictures kind of speak for themselves. There is one special image included for a certain Mr. Rob Smith. Those who know him will know what I'm talking about! 😉 I tried to capture as much of the irony as possible in my pictures....!

I have to admit, as wacky as it was, it was still great fun! I had two hours of skiing, put my shorts and sandals back on and drove home through the desert. Brilliant!



More Building Madness


I went to the Nakheel sales center. Nakheel is the governments construction company, responsible
The French AlpsThe French AlpsThe French Alps

It could almost be. To their credit they have done a pretty good job of re-creating the scenerey!
for most of the madness out here. I should point out that the sales centre is like a gigantic hotel complex in itself and is only temporary - i.e. they're going to knock it all down after a while.

Anyway, in here you can see a model of the Palm Jumeirah. Its a fascinating sight! The images just dont do it justice at all!! Look at the pictures of the whole thing first, then the close up of the Atlantis hotel. That helps to explain the size of this development. Its absolutely phenomenal!

To top it off, this is one of 3 "palm's" planned / under construction - with this one being the smallest. The next one up is about 1.5x as big and the daddy one is at least twice! Go figure.

After the palm I've put some photos of another development called "The Lagoons". The thing with Dubai is, they dont build buildings - they build cities. This is again just "another development" - one of literally hundreds like it!!!It takes a while for it all to sink in. Again, these pictures pretty much speak for themselves, however, just to ram it home, the central
Indoor chairliftIndoor chairliftIndoor chairlift

There is a first time for everything...
island with the cool curvy buildings (which no-one is sure is actually structurally possible yet!) is easily the size of the whole of canary wharf! !

One little side note to answer the requests from a particular female reader... please find the "hunkiest" man I've managed to photograph legally as yet. He can be seen admiring the lagoons in his tighty whitey (on the left side of the image). Please enjoy / send your thoughts 😉



So anyways, the time has come for me to say adieu for now. Next up - desert porsche driving - OH YEAH!

Take care until then and keep up to date on england!

BTW The photos are randomly placed - sorry.

x



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

More IronyMore Irony
More Irony

This view really reminded me of the end of "The Truman Show"
Happy TimesHappy Times
Happy Times

The environment....? Nah... it's fine... THIS IS GREAT FUN!
I'm having funI'm having fun
I'm having fun

Although I may not look like it.... Check out the Apres Ski bar in the rear...!
FOR ROBERT SMITHFOR ROBERT SMITH
FOR ROBERT SMITH

Thanks matey - I had a great day.
IRONYIRONY
IRONY

A fire alarm, mid slope. This actually amused me for quite some time. In fact, I'm laughing at it again now!
The Palm 1The Palm 1
The Palm 1

This thing is rediculous
The Palm 2The Palm 2
The Palm 2

A great model though, and I'm not talking about my dad.
Atlantis 1Atlantis 1
Atlantis 1

So this is the famous "Hotel Atlantis" - pure unadulterated oppulence! This shows it in relation to the Palm. Looks OK.
Atlantis 2Atlantis 2
Atlantis 2

But actually - this hotel is massive. I couldnt get it all in. They even have a huge (HUGE) water park on the grounds.
The Lagoons (& Mr. Hunk)The Lagoons (& Mr. Hunk)
The Lagoons (& Mr. Hunk)

Yet another rediculous development, complete with Hunk Supreme. This complex has its own "Opera Island" amongst other things. As you do.
The Lagoons 2 The Lagoons 2
The Lagoons 2

Its massive. Apparently the curvy buildings may even be structurally possible.. but who really cares, how cool do they look ehh?
The Lagoons 3The Lagoons 3
The Lagoons 3

One of the roads...


21st September 2007

its amazing
wow skiing in desert, it must be fun. great
21st September 2007

hmmm.
I'm seriously starting to question my employment with Shell.....

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb