Tall buildings, some more tall buildings, and some more tall buildings and some more and some more....


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
September 19th 2007
Published: September 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Burj DubaiThe Burj DubaiThe Burj Dubai

This building is already the tallest in the world and its only just about half way.
Hello hello hello.

Well 3 days in Dubai and what can I say. Hmm... there is a lot of construction going on out here. I mean A LOT. I knew there would be some, but it's seriously incredible. These guys build Canary Wharf for breakfast and then double it for lunch and build 10 golf courses on it for dinner.

I've taken hundreds of pictures of half done buildings to try and capture this fact, but I can't do it justice and so I've only added a few.



The Burj Dubai


The tallest building in the world. No one knows the final height - its kept top secret because a rival prince is also building one further up Dubai - they're having a little competition to see who can build the tallest building! Its rumoured to be around 800m ish. Pretty big.

If you look right at the top you can see the cranes. These are the sort of cranes that build entire buildings in the UK!! It takes about 10 minutes just to raise a steel girder to the top! Also, on the side of the building you can see the workers lifts! Now
Yes, its pretty bigYes, its pretty bigYes, its pretty big

This gives a little more of an idea of the scale of this thing.
that would be something.

Check it out in comparison to some meager 40 storey buildings.



Mall of the Emirates


Even the shopping malls here are massive. Sorry not just massive, but again, the biggest in the world (mall of the emirates). MOE is no ordinary mall, this comes complete with its on streets within it, the largest carpark I've ever seen and a ski slope, of course.

If you look in the first picture of the ski slope, on the left are the windows to the shopping mall. The shops are all laid out in groups and the group next to the skopes are the ski shops! For any keen ski-ers, there are some mega bargains! Obviously you can also grab a starbucks etc.

My pictures over the slopes were taken from the Apres Ski Bar. Hilarious. They serve fondue. Its such a brilliant idea, turn up in sandals, shorts and a t-shirt and go skiing.



Carrefour


Even the shops are big in this place. I only got one shot before I was almost arrested - it seems Carrefour (Tesco equivalent) is very secret out here...!

Im about 1/3 of the way
Burj vs. CitiBurj vs. CitiBurj vs. Citi

40 storeys suddenly seems pretty small.
towards the end you can see in the picture - it was big.



Cars


Anways, almost done, but before I go, those of you who know me will completely understand when I say that the highlight of my trip was the view of the garage chez daddy's. It was nice to turn up to this view outside the villa! 😊

The one under the cover is a ralleigh spec Caterham Seven Superlight. Yummy. There is also another super secret one I cant disclose, but one of the pictures gives it away. Again Yummy.




Anyways, I'm going skiing now, so I'll add some more later. Apologies for the disorder of the page, havent quite got the hang of the formatting codes. But I'm on holiday, so perhaps a break from formatting will do me good.

Take care.

x




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Mall of the EmiratesMall of the Emirates
Mall of the Emirates

Yes, the biggest mall in the world
Who says you cant ski in the desertWho says you cant ski in the desert
Who says you cant ski in the desert

And before you ask, yes it is the biggest indoor ski slope in the world.
My only complaint is the speed of the chair liftMy only complaint is the speed of the chair lift
My only complaint is the speed of the chair lift

Does that sound spoiled at all? Images of me on the slopes to follow :)
CarrefourCarrefour
Carrefour

Again big
The motorsThe motors
The motors

BRROOOOOOM!
Papa RobinsonPapa Robinson
Papa Robinson

Top Secret Vehicle


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb