A bike ride through Heritage Village...


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
November 20th 2010
Published: November 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

...and some pics from the top of the tower at Marina Mall. A couple of smaller adventures I took in my last couple of days off, while exploring on my bike (I actually stumbled across the Heritage Village. I had heard of it but never knew where it was...guess now I do).

Well, back to school tomorrow...then to Dubai next weekend for the World Golf Championships. I haven't been to Dubai yet, so I am looking forward to it. Stay tuned for pics.

After that, I won't be embarking on any more adventures until the new year (however, I may try the para-sailing during the National Holidays in early Dec.). Although, being at home and around family for the Christmas Break, will have it's own usual elements of adventure .....lol..... I love my family, can't wait!!


T xo



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The parking lot belowThe parking lot below
The parking lot below

...just to give you an idea of how high up I was going. Similar to Skyline tower in Niagara Falls in terms of height. Only they don't charge you to go up in Abu Dhabi...it's FREE. Nice coffee and ice cream cafe at the top...and/or an expensive Chinese Food restaurant...your choice
More skyline...More skyline...
More skyline...

...okay enough view. You gotta see it in person to truly appreciate it...onto the Heritage Village
The entrance way...The entrance way...
The entrance way...

...lots of tourists
Speaks for itself....Speaks for itself....
Speaks for itself....

... you can read it better if you click on it a of couple times
The village shops...The village shops...
The village shops...

...not actually in use, just preserved for tourists
There was a guy in there..There was a guy in there..
There was a guy in there..

...selling postcards. Other than that and a restaurant, there wasn't any vendors. I thought that was odd. Would've been good idea to have vendors selling souvenir items in the closed up little shops...perhaps it's about preservation?!
This is it...This is it...
This is it...

(the explanation you just read)
A villa...A villa...
A villa...

...and truck
The village was very pretty...The village was very pretty...
The village was very pretty...

...lots of quaint little areas
Loved this old little shack...Loved this old little shack...
Loved this old little shack...

...wish we could build cottages back home like this
Not too sure what these where...Not too sure what these where...
Not too sure what these where...

...more vendors perhaps
A Museum...A Museum...
A Museum...

...again, you have to see it in person to appreciated it all
Not too sure what this was either...Not too sure what this was either...
Not too sure what this was either...

..as I said, I was trying to wisk thru due to my inappropriate attire, plus I am not much of a 'tourist type'....in and out
Where they cooked?Where they cooked?
Where they cooked?

Probably....reminds me of Pioneer Village at home
How far the Middle East has come....How far the Middle East has come....
How far the Middle East has come....

(I just deleted what I originally wrote here...lol....probably a good judgment call)
And finally...And finally...
And finally...

....to end the tour, an Ancient Mosque
No, that is not me....No, that is not me....
No, that is not me....

...I am saving THIS for my next adventure/holiday


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb