Well, here it is. What you have all been waiting for...my desert camping adventure...


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
November 19th 2010
Published: November 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

A holiday drink to begin our adventrue...A holiday drink to begin our adventrue...A holiday drink to begin our adventrue...

...at the hotel waiting for our tour guide to pick us up, we (my friend and adventure partner Terri), indulged since the guide was 1/2 hour late (he is from Dubai...got lost)....ooppss...another one bartender, please!!
...I am not going to say much here other than, it was a very small group which I think I preferred, since we got to ride the camels TWICE (in the evening AND in the morning). That would not happen with a larger group. There were 10 of us , plus 2 guides (we came in 2 vehicles and only 4 of us, plus our guide, camped overnight). The others only purchased the 1/2 day, to Sundown, package.

It was wonderful! I completely loved it and plan to do it again, and again.....so now every one of you have to come visit me so I can go with you....lol.

I will let the pictures speak for themselves now. Be warned, there are LOTS of 'em. More than any other entry I have made. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed the experience. Again, don't forget to read the captions!

Take care all....see some of you soon, xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Finally...Finally...
Finally...

...Nadir, our tour guide arrived and off we went (as you can see, I landed "shotgun", which turned out to be the BEST seat in the truck...you'll see why).
Are we there yet???Are we there yet???
Are we there yet???

...yes, we were...only an hours drive.
First stop, the Dunes!First stop, the Dunes!
First stop, the Dunes!

Now I had heard we would be "Dune Bashing"..but I thought in "Dune Buggies...not this. AND I was in the "shot gun" seat...yikes!
I know, I know.....I know, I know.....
I know, I know.....

..'why did she put this up?', you ask....well THAT was the sand smashing against my window...lol
We sped over those dunes.....We sped over those dunes.....
We sped over those dunes.....

...I know I keep sayin' it but CRAZY fun!
LOL..the other group got stuck...LOL..the other group got stuck...
LOL..the other group got stuck...

..we had to hook up and pull them out...too funny....Nadir told him he needed to go back to training...lol
We took a break ...We took a break ...
We took a break ...

...and to wait for the other truck to clean up the puke...lol...yes, they had a little boy in their truck that got sick....apparently a common occurrence....also, me and Nadir.
You know me.....You know me.....
You know me.....

...I just have to immerse my bare feet into my environment (remember the rug at the Mosque?)
Now off to the camel farm....Now off to the camel farm....
Now off to the camel farm....

....to visit the camels of course!
Some nerve....Some nerve....
Some nerve....

....like they don't feed them enough, she had to eat my hat?!
Yukkk...Yukkk...
Yukkk...

.....glad that wasn't me
"A teachable moment"..."A teachable moment"...
"A teachable moment"...

...did you know that Arabian camels have only one hump and that camels in Asia have two? Neither did I! Ya learn something new everyday.....ok, let's move on (as you can see...the camel farm is not a highlight for me)...lol.
Now this ......Now this ......
Now this ......

...was definitely a highlight. A desert sunset....breathless!
Catherine and i just had to get in there...Catherine and i just had to get in there...
Catherine and i just had to get in there...

... (immerse...immerse...lol). Now finally, off to the camp
The sitting area....The sitting area....
The sitting area....

...where they smoke Shisha...you'll see THAT later
Yes, they actually have washrooms...Yes, they actually have washrooms...
Yes, they actually have washrooms...

.....another highlight. AND they were separate for men and women


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb