More Corniche and First student B-day


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me and Hamed!Me and Hamed!Me and Hamed!

The first student to celebrate a b-day. I made cupcakes for the class.
Hi everyone,

I like to keep checkin' in every few days at least, just to keep y'all updated. As I mentioned in earlier entries, things WILL get more interesting....I promise! In the meantime, enjoy my 'little rant' and a few added pics for your enjoyment, at the end.

I have decided to not rent a car this year since I have a colleague/friend at my school Sandra, that lives in my hotel who just got a car and has offered to drive me for a modest contribution (400 drms per month = $111. CAD). Renting a car cost about $460. CAD per month, so a fair savings, which is why I am here...to SAVE!! Instead, I have decided to buy a bike for weekends to ride the Corniche trail and to explore (EARLY in the a.m. before the crazy drivers get out on the road...lol). Now that winter is coming, (a frigid 25 degrees C) exercise will be much more enjoyable.

I have been here long enough now to report a few negative findings about living in the Middle East, that I would like to share with you...just so you can all stop cursing me for being the
My class...My class...My class...

...enjoying the celebration (cupcakes to be exact)
luckiest girl in the world to be here...he,he,he.

1. They use the term "Re-use" but haven't a clue what that really means. In other words they do NOT recycle. Not a thing! It feels really odd to throw things that are recyclable into the garbage. I have started to collect items to use for school activities just to recycle on my own...

2. EVERYONE drives. No one walks ANYWHERE. Therefore, the sidewalks are unsafe. Really close to the road (that is if there is sidewalks, or you can call them that).....not to mention what it is doing to the air quality. Which brings me to my third and final complaint...

3. It is for these reasons that the smog and pollution can be 'cut with a knife'. Due to the amount of humidity, coupled with the heat, makes it very difficult to breathe. I am a bit worried about being outdoors for a long time. Especially long walks, biking or inline skating and running (which I haven't done in 2 months).

The odd thing is, is that NO ONE talks about it. I can feel the smog instantly when I go outside. It is like you
More cupcake enjoyment...More cupcake enjoyment...More cupcake enjoyment...

....I love "Miss Theresa" Khalid yells out...too funny. Man, I love my job! He's the one in the previous pic with his head down having the "anticipation fit"
hit a brick wall. I think the pollution is just hangin' around for you to breathe in. Asthmatics or people with breathing problems....can't imagine how they cope. A teacher I work with from the USA, has developed asthma since living here and says if it keeps up, she may have to go home. Scary to think about it...so I'll just stop now.

Well, got that off my chest. I can 'breathe easier' now...LOL!! Enjoy the pics! Hope all is well in CA NA DA! xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mmmm......Mmmm......
Mmmm......

Hamed enjoyed them (I let him have 2...note the chocolate all over his face)
Just thought I would add this random picJust thought I would add this random pic
Just thought I would add this random pic

...I'm wearing the Leaf's hat you bought me hunny!!
Another random...Another random...
Another random...

I realize this is nothing new to you but Clouds in Abu Dhabi are a rarity. My Arabic teacher partner took the children outside to see them...THAT is just how rare they are...lol


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb