Day Fifteen - Holy day here...


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
September 17th 2010
Published: September 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Denied entrance...tried a number of times to get into my roomDenied entrance...tried a number of times to get into my roomDenied entrance...tried a number of times to get into my room

Apparently our time at the hotel had expired. ADEC renewed us for another 2 weeks,,,whewwww,,,I thought I was getting sent home.....lol...moi? something I said?
Yet another hot and sunny day in Abu Dhabi!

Since it is like Sunday back home, (the old Sunday back home, prior to Sunday shopping and 8-8 banking) there wasn't much to do today aside from school preparation and suntanning by the pool.

The Carrefour is open however so Claudia and I went to purchase some laundry soap and a clothes drying rack. I needed to do some laundry and my choices on how to accomplish that were grim to say the least. There are no coin laundromats here so here were my choices:

Choice #1 - Take my laundry to Indian men to wash at a 'cleaner' costing approx. 1-4 drms (.30-$1.50) - per item) or...

Choice #2 - Have the hotel laundry wash it (70-80 drms - ($25. - 35. - per item) or...

Choice #3 - Use my bathtub and wash, rinse and ring (the worst part) everything by hand.

#3 won out. I am not to keen about leaving my 'fine washables' etc. with .....well I think you know what I might say here...lol....plus, it would still have cost me a small fortune compared to the hotel laundry.

I have
Yes, you can actually eat peanut butter and toast at schoolYes, you can actually eat peanut butter and toast at schoolYes, you can actually eat peanut butter and toast at school

...unlike at home. No peanut allergies in the UAE. Kinda makes u wonder????
added a couple of random pics for your enjoyment. You will have to read the captions in order to understand....Enjoy the rest of your day, and TGIF! xo




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

No matter where I go in this great big world of ours...No matter where I go in this great big world of ours...
No matter where I go in this great big world of ours...

....I will ALWAYS find the Heinz!!!! (My stash)
Laundry day...Laundry day...
Laundry day...

...yes, that is my tub!
More laundry day excitmentMore laundry day excitment
More laundry day excitment

Rinse cycle...time to add the fabric softener!
The whites are complete....The whites are complete....
The whites are complete....

(I am actually enjoying this.....lol)
Me and the boys before heading out for dinnerMe and the boys before heading out for dinner
Me and the boys before heading out for dinner

.... a couple of them seem a bit camera shy. We are greeted and assisted every day by them....such gentlemen


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb