Christmas Charity


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
December 22nd 2009
Published: December 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A Christmas MarketA Christmas MarketA Christmas Market

Gluwien and Curry Wurst, the real smell of Christmas.
Before I start, and this may come as a surprise to some of you, I am not really a massive fan of Christmas. Back in the UK it used to piss me off. Shops were packed, pubs were full of people who never normally went in pubs and therefore did not know how to act, it was a pain getting a taxi and when you did get one they charge you double and so on. If you have to wait until the season of goodwill before you exhibit any goodwill to your fellow man, then you are obviously not a very nice person.

I will admit that we have just gotten back from Germany where I did go round a few Christmas Markets and there was a good atmosphere. A big group of Germans standing around getting drunk and eating high quality delicious pork products is a recipe for fun any time of the year. Any given weekend there is an excuse for such a gathering, the Christmas Markets are just an excuse to do so every night for a month and flog candles to tourists. Well done Germans.

This year, however, I have noticed yet another riling Yuletide trend - the "We are giving to charity the money we are saving by not sending cards this year" email.

Personally, I do not mind if you don't send me a Christmas card. This year I will be sending out exactly the same number of cards as I have done for many years - none. It can be nice to get a note from someone, but sending out an email to your entire address book to let me know that you have made a donation to a cause that I almost certainly don't support is just taking it to another level.

I received one of these emails today which was addressed to over 250 people. let's say that on average a card costs a pound and postage 50p. Do you honestly expect me to believe that just after you've hit the "send" button, the next thing you are going to do is write out a cheque for 375 quid and send to "JCBs for Africa"? Who are you trying to kid? Apart from anything else, sending a JCB to a remote African village will mean that in two months when they realise how expensive it is to run and maintain a JCB, let alone one in a remote location, all they will have is the worlds most expensive climbing frame for the kids.

I'd rather have the card.




Advertisement



24th December 2009

Christmas Charity
Well, I am glad I sent you a card. You are, of course, as always, right.
24th December 2009

Shall i risk it.....
...yes, i will. No card, just this message...without a donation to charity! MERRY CHRISTMAS AL!! Have a good one. (Does that mean that you don't miss our family pre Christmas Christmas with so many trimmings? How could you not?) ;-)
24th December 2009

Go Ginge!!!!!!!!!!!!
too true blue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
24th December 2009

Bob
You don't happen to have a lad named Bob Cratchit working for you by any chance?

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb