Funny things


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

The laundry kings!
Hello everyone,

I felt I could not go on withought first imparting some humorous things that were done to me, someone else or was seen. The first thing would have to be where I go to get my laundry done. The school said they would pay for all our cleaning at this particular place across the street from the hotel - Bombay Laundry. My adventure began when I opened the door and saw these faces. I was a little apprehensive about leaving my delicates with them but as there seemed to be undamaged clothes everywhere I thought just take a chance. I passed him my two laundry bags thinking he would discreetly take them aside and organize them after I left. Nope! Just imagine it. Your dirty clothes dumped on the counter in front of you - underwear and all. The shocking part came when he proceeded to count said underwear in front of God and everyone and THEN to make matters worse, he called a colleague over to recount my dirty underwear one at a time. They seem to paw through everyone's things all the time so for them it is no big deal. I'm kinda addicted to having
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

This is who greets us upon entry!
my underwear pressed. Yes...I said pressed...they iron absolutely everything they wash, even socks! Another incident involving underwear is in my hotel room...which has amazing service but this one day I came home to find someone had reorganized everything on the counter in my bathroom, folded all my pyjamas perfectly and...yes, folded my dirty clothes which I had carelessly thrown on the chair in the corner of the room...including my dirty underwear. If you come here buy brand new underwear and guard them with your life.
I would have to say the some of the signs on buildings and the products we have seen are amazingly funny. Here are only a few signs of business' that are either badly translated or just poorly chosen words.
One other little story is about poor pickup lines used by some of the guys around here. A colleague, Andrea, was approached while sitting in a restaurant. His opening line was not a cheesy -How you doing baby? Oh no! This guy, in a fast food restaurant approaches women who are eating mouthfuls of whatever and says "Why aren't you ballroom dancing?". Any men reading this listen and learn. Ballroom dancing is where it's at!
Butt Sweet HouseButt Sweet HouseButt Sweet House

I'm not sure what they serve here but I don't want any.

Bye for now,

Sherry


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

Read it and giggle.
Photo 3Photo 3
Photo 3

One package says Lady a Virgin and the other is tightening soap - not sure what it tightens. Does anyone know? Did you notice the company name? CANADA.
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Oh look! You can get off and have your daily requirement of Vitamin C all at the same time! I wonder if Andrea knows about this?
lubricating gellubricating gel
lubricating gel

Love how the bananas are strategically placed - oh, it's banana flavoured by the way!


31st August 2009

You made me laugh... These are too funny... I will have to send them to my sister. Mary
31st August 2009

Very interesting!!!!!!!
Hi Sherry, Great to hear from you, sounds like an interesting and exciting place to be. Hope you are keeping a journal. Could be book material. Is the teaching curriculum basically the same as ours? I would love to visit there but it probably won't happen. Got my Carpal tunnel surgery done last Thursday and hopefully will get this cast off tomorrow. Pretty awkward doing thins with one hand.
1st September 2009

Thanks for the laughs!
Allo Sherry! Tu m'as fait bien rire - merci! Your pictures are soooo funny!!! Can you please bring me some of that tightning soap? Some of my body parts needs some tighning. thx Elise :o) xxx
4th September 2009

TROP DROLE
Tu m'a fait rire! Quelle aventure pour toi! J'ai hate d'entendre d'autres nouvelles. Rolande
13th September 2009

Sherry, too funny, still funny even the 5th time I have heard these stories!!
17th September 2009

Pauline Aubé
Sherry, Pauline me dit qu'elle ne reçoit pas tes courriels. Peux-tu vérifier son adresse courriel svp? sforsyth1@cogeco.ca Merci, xx

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb