Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque - Abu Dhabi (U.A.E)


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

555

These ornate columns hold light fixtures.
Hello everyone,

This past weekend some friends and I went to the only mosque that I know of that allows visitors. Our adventure began when the women of the group had to dress in the traditional muslin dress, basically covered from head to toe except our faces. Once suited up, we had to remove our shoes before entering. There were doors next to the visitors center that had a sign saying "Shoe Store". I guess shoes are often stolen ...not sure why it said that but again as I've noticed signs here are badly translated to english so it could actually mean "shoe shining station" for all I know! We were all struck by the beauty of the interior of the mosque. It has 80 domes, over 1,000 colums, 24 carat gold-plated chandeliers and the world's largest hand-woven persian carpet. It was AMAZING! I actually met a group of people that found each other in Dubai (I think), from different countries, who travel together. I thought that was really incredible. What is different here is that most people are displaced from other countries so you make all kind of friends in just about any place all the time.
There isn't
666666

They certainly have beautifully designed entryways.
much more I can say about the mosque that my pictures cannot describe. If there is a way to look at them blown up, do so because the beauty is in the details.

By the way, I am moving into my apartment tomorrow! I get an apartment on my own so I have a lot of room...it is a rather large apartment. I'm already gathering everything I need to survive, rice cooker and hopefully soon, an internet connection. For now, I will be checking it at school.

Bye for now,

Sherry


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

909909
909

You get an idea of the majesty of the place.
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

clocks that tell you when to pray
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

Absolutely fantastic chandeliers.
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

A type of stained glass found on the floor between the columns.


1st September 2009

Wow, What beautiful Shots
Hi Sherry, It sounds like you're doing well over there. Your pictures are amazing. I really enjoyed going through them. I hope you keep sending more. Have you started school yet? I'd love to hear about your days in the school. Talk soon, Sue
6th September 2009

Quelle richesse!
Salut Sherry, Tes photos sont vraiment belles. On peut imaginer l'ambiance d'un tel endroit. Je suis toujours contente de te lire. À bientôt! Nathalie B.
9th September 2009

Love the pictures!! I can not believe you forgot to mention how HOT we were dressed up in the habayas!!! We were roasting outside. And the wall of the 99 names of God, that was impressive and the clock counting the times for prayer. So glad we visited.
12th October 2009

awesome

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb