Day 1 and 2


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, have some time to sit and write.

Well obviously on Saturday the 20th of June I got on the plane in Brisbane, then a 7 hour flight to Singapore, then a futher 7 hours to Abu Dhabi. At this point in time (plus time differences) I had no idea what day or time it was, but Chris and I arrived at Abu Dhabi and were picked up by his father who lives in Dubai. We drove to Dubai and went to sleep as it was early hours of the morning, then woke up only 3 hours later to get some sightseeing done of Dubai before heading off to the airport again to fly into Amman (Jordan). Unfortunately it was really dusty and sandy, so the sights weren't THAT amazing, but still pretty damn cool!!! I mean I was in Dubai!! WOOWWW!! I have pictures of that cool arched, surfboard looking building, and the area around there, but also it was a Sunday (I think) So most things were closed! But I did see a pretty cool place that was called "Trader Vic's". Made me think of you Sam!!! Hahaha.

Then Chris and I headed off for only a 3 hour flight to Amman where Chris' mum Colleen picked us up. We got in around 4pm local time, had a drink with Colleen and Eimear (a family friend of theirs) and then they went off to the airport to fly to Aleppo (in Syria) where we would meet them in a few days. Chris and I went out to this awesome place called Books@Cafe in Amman and net up with 2 of his friends Fadi, and Rana. Pretty interesting people, and a very cool location, but I was so unbelievably tired and jet-lagged I could not concentrate or anything! Then we stopped off at Roman Amphitheatre in Amman before heading off to the airport to pick Shona up. So by the time we got back to the hotel we were quite exhausted!!!

So we fell asleep, and welcomed a new day......


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb